Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I have a Cooler Master Elite 130 case with an MSI H81i motherboard, my cpu is an i5 4690k non oc obviously (dont tell me about the board being non overclockable, I know that and Im not trying to oc anyway, i got a good deal on the processor so i took it.) Stock intel cooler and all stock case fans, nothing added just essentially a bare bones build.

Anyway my recent build I have made has been working out well for me except for one problem. My cpu temps seem to just be too high. My cpu will mostly stable in idle at 50c, when I am at load it generally ranges from 75-80 degrees and I have no idea why. Granted I do have a small form factor so I am showing you some pictures of my build if you guys can see anything wrong. If i need to get a small form cpu cooler I will do it however it cant be to expensive. I also do not think a liquid cooling solution is the thing for me due to money and just not wanting to have to deal with it.

This is a gaming pc for playing games and load temps are from playing games and youtube in background, I know that cooling in mini itx builds are difficult especially air cooling so I absolutely probably need help on this...as far as gaming goes, I can max out almost any game on 1080p ultra with 60 fps however I do sometimes get some stuttering not sure if its the GTX 970 which stays at 60c or the 4690k which seems to getting high temperature. If nothing else I think I should definitely be trying to get my cpu temps down, this is my first pc I have built and I think I have for the most part done it fine.

With PSU on top, not much clearance over the motherboard as you can see

No PSU on top, the side fan is intake blowing the air over the motherboard, the PSU is above with fan down so hopefully sucks the air out, GPU is on the back wall.

Overhead view, back of case is at bottom, GPU on right, all of the wires are tucked to the side to the left.