Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it important to have a heatsink on a mofset is so can anyone find the right right one for my board Biostar's website had no suggestions and poking around the web only found asus a gigabyte
models so any help?

·
Registered
5,743 Posts
Depends if you put on a lot of high volts.

My Mobo also does not come with mosfet heatsinks, however it does not need them for simple CPU overclocking because of the power phase change.

If it did not come with them, and you do not use volts higher than your board specifies than I would not worry about it.

·
Registered
5,824 Posts
Mosfet's cooling is a big must if your going to overclock. Otherwise you will end up with burnt mosfet chips

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
well as I am a novice and the heatsinks I did see were not over $20 I was interested in getting one but I have a very cool case and so far I have had only 2 problems
the system clock in Bios occasionally needs reset and my HD Blue Ray Adudio went out?
Any Ideas?

·
Premium Member
7,711 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by Atomfix
View Post

Mosfet's cooling is a big must if your going to overclock. Otherwise you will end up with burnt mosfet chips

Yup.

MOSFETs are prone to thermal runaway. They heat up, their current output becomes unreliable and incosistent...generating more heat...causing more instability.

·
Registered
5,824 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by snot
View Post

well as I am a novice and the heatsinks I did see were not over $20 I was interested in getting one but I have a very cool case and so far I have had only 2 problems
the system clock in Bios occasionally needs reset and my HD Blue Ray Adudio went out?
Any Ideas?

Your CMOS battery might be dead?

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
so does anyone know of a compatible heatsink for the mofset on a Biostar TA880GB?

·
Registered
172 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·