Overclock.net banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,527 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so my monitor runs 59Hz, 60Hz and 75HZ. I can run all resolutions at 59Hz and 60Hz like 1280x720 and all the way up to the max which is 1680x1050. My question is that if I run my desktop resolution at 1680x1050 @ 60Hz can I still run my game at 1280x1024 @75Hz.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,527 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danman1280;12057653
Typically, I just run everything at the monitors native resolution, and thats usually at 60Hz. Makes for a crisper picture.
But for game play I have seen a difference from 60Hz to 75Hz. When I used my HP 2009m at 60Hz Black Ops and CSS was kind of choppy and I get 150+ FPS overall on each game easy. When I switched monitors to this one "HP w2007" I seen a huge difference in stable, smooth, non stutter game play.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,355 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fRingE;12057583
Ok so my monitor runs 59Hz, 60Hz and 75HZ. I can run all resolutions at 59Hz and 60Hz like 1280x720 and all the way up to the max which is 1680x1050. My question is that if I run my desktop resolution at 1680x1050 @ 60Hz can I still run my game at 1280x1024 @75Hz.
IIRC, games override the display settings--so if the display still responds at that setting you choose in game, then yes. Doesn't mean that it's good for the monitor though...
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,527 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by guyladouche;12057720
IIRC, games override the display settings--so if the display still responds at that setting you choose in game, then yes. Doesn't mean that it's good for the monitor though...
So run 1680x1050 @ 60Hz on desktop and then 1280x1024 in all games to get that 75Hz? or...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,355 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fRingE;12057751
So run 1680x1050 @ 60Hz on desktop and then 1280x1024 in all games to get that 75Hz? or...
You don't need to ever change your desktop's resolution if you're talking about gaming. the game will just run at whatever res. you set in-game. If your monitor supports a resolution/setting, it will show up in the in-game settings. If not, then you're out of luck.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,527 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by guyladouche;12057833
You don't need to ever change your desktop's resolution if you're talking about gaming. the game will just run at whatever res. you set in-game. If your monitor supports a resolution/setting, it will show up in the in-game settings. If not, then you're out of luck.
ok I see. So like in COD4 or Black Ops. It has Resolution and Refresh Rate. Set it to 1280x0124 and 75Hz? since that is the only res I can run 75Hz @?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,724 Posts
There's no noticable difference between 60hz and 75hz, my monitor runs at 120hz but I can't see any difference in games if I run them at 60hz.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
1,527 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected];12057968
Stay with the native resolution the monitor is suppose to be at.
The monitors Max Res is 1680x1050 is that the native, cause when I go into CSS it shows the native as 1280x1024. Or are you saying I can run 1680x1050 @ 75Hz but only in game?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,355 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by fRingE;12057942
ok I see. So like in COD4 or Black Ops. It has Resolution and Refresh Rate. Set it to 1280x0124 and 75Hz? since that is the only res I can run 75Hz @?
Personally, I wouldn't run at that resolution, only because it's a different aspect ratio from your monitor's native resolution--so everything will look off (unless the game windows itself)--if you are fine with how it looks at [email protected] (and your monitor supports that res/refresh), then fine--go for it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenixlight;12057952
There's no noticable difference between 60hz and 75hz, my monitor runs at 120hz but I can't see any difference in games if I run them at 60hz.
I think that maybe tearing would be the only thing, and then you can just vsync to get rid of that. Otherwise, I agree--never noticed a difference between 60 and 75hz.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top