Overclock.net banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all

Im still fairly new to building and very new to oc'ing. I've built an Intel system a few years ago, which was the family computer, but now I want to build a system for myself but, as im at uni, it needs to be on a budget! It will mainly be for graphics work (Photoshop, Illistrator etc.) but also multi-media and gaming when i have chance!

I decided to go with the 965BE as it seemd to best fit my needs and budget (Really for graphics an i7 would be best but I'm never going to be able to afford one of them while studying!) but I would like some advice on what motherboard to go for.
I had been looking at the Asrock 890GX extreme 3 (£87.46 fom here http://www.ebuyer.com/product/204534) but I dont know if its any good?
Or should I streach my budget and get something better? If so what?
I had seen the Asus Crosshair IV Formula which looked Beasty! but its nearly twice the price!

I need it to have fairly good on-board graphics (hence looking at the 890 chip sets) as the budget just wont streach to a gaphics card for now so will have to be a future upgrade. Also i want the future proof ability of usb3 and Sata III as im unlikely to be replacing this system for a while.

Any advice would be awsome
Thanks

·
Registered
748 Posts
You could really help your budget by going with a 620 or 630 instead of the 965. You can always upgrade later. Or even the tri cores should be enough for your needs for now. The 890 boards should be good for you. Will you be happy doing all those multi media things and gaming with out proper graphics? Step down a little on cpu and you should be able to get a decent gpu to make you happier. Just a thought. Always tough choices with limited money. Good luck

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3