Overclock.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
507 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am looking for a good motherboard for the 955.

-price range 100-150
-on-board video a must
-overclocks well when i throw in my 5850 later on.

i am strongly leaning towards this "ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 AMD 790GX" at newegg and would like to know if anyone else has any thoughts on it?

any other suggestions are most welcome,thanks in advance!

·
Registered
507 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
what ram would you go with, with that motherboard? this is my first build and i picked out g. skill F3-12800CL9D-4GBNQ at newegg, but ive never set timings or anything, and im not even certain it will work with that mb. the motehrboard approved ram list seems outdated or somthing, so im havnig a little trouble. that site for that ram showed this motherboard as fine, but i dont know

·
Intel/Nvidia
3,445 Posts
Its best to ask ASUS tech support to see if they may have updated its memory test.

Good luck!

Quote:

Originally Posted by Alex of the West View Post
what ram would you go with, with that motherboard? this is my first build and i picked out g. skill F3-12800CL9D-4GBNQ at newegg, but ive never set timings or anything, and im not even certain it will work with that mb. the motehrboard approved ram list seems outdated or somthing, so im havnig a little trouble. that site for that ram showed this motherboard as fine, but i dont know

·
Registered
4,134 Posts
Quote:

i am looking for a good motherboard for the 955.

-price range 100-150
-on-board video a must
-overclocks well when i throw in my 5850 later on.

i am strongly leaning towards this "ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 AMD 790GX" at newegg and would like to know if anyone else has any thoughts on it?

any other suggestions are most welcome,thanks in advance!
Do you want Crossfire or just a single card set-up? You can get some other boards that are a little bit cheaper also, or ones with USB 3.0 or the 890GX chip set for around the same price.