Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Quote:
Fearing Microsoft will build a walled garden around Windows 8, Valve co-founder Gabe Newell begain focusing Steam development on Linux, and that effort is starting to show up in the real world. To wit, the latest Steam Hardare Survey reveals that Linux usage on Steam has more than doubled in February, jumping from 0.8 percent a month prior to 2.02 percent currently.
Source

Go Valve!!
thumb.gif

·
Premium Member
5,823 Posts
Not too surprising. It will grow to 5% or so and then level off. Right now we're seeing all the excitement around the Linux release take effect, but that will soon die off as the larger portion of Linux gamers try it out.

Good for Linux users, but not exactly ground breaking.

·
Premium Member
4,349 Posts
They need to release more client versions. I tried loading it up in CentOS 6.3, but could not get it, though I am a linux noob. Tried the Fedora builds, and the repackaging a Debian build instructions, but could not get either to work.

·
Registered
1,098 Posts
Of course it grew, considering the press Steam got for anouncing their official support. Numbers will grow, but what we are looking at is the initial flux of people that were already on the edge.

·
Premium Member
8,574 Posts
LOL. Love the naysayers. Just wonder how many of you guys complain about not having choice or control of things you buy? How many of you complain about Win8 and all that. God...shoot a person for trying something different why don't you. And if you're waiting for a game to come to Linux then you're only making the delay longer. Consumers need to be proactive or they'll be at the mercy of producers. You want games moved onto Linux then move onto Linux and the games will follow. But that would be too much effort. I'm sorry but it's tiresome to hear people complain about things and never do anything to change it. /Rant