Overclock.net banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I'm pretty new to the overclocking game, but have followed instruction videos online to overclock my GPU.

I've used MSI Afterburner for the overclock of my card, but I cannot get any better performance when testing in Heaven Benchmarking.

I get the following results from stock and overclocked settings;

Stock: FPS - 128.7, Score - 3242
+200Mhz Clock, +200 Mhz Memory: FPS - 127.8, Score - 3212
+250Mhz Clock, +750Mhz Memory: FPS 128.0, Score - 3223

The overclock registers in the Heaven software, so I know the settings have applied. The +250 overclock wasn't wholly stable, some jittering, but the +200 was, so cannot understand the score.

I thought being watercooled that the Seahawk would have impressive overclocks, but I cannot get an ounce of improvement from mine.

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance for your help!

PC Specs:

6700k OC to 4.4Ghz, cooled with a Kraken X62
Asus Formula VII Mobo
32GB 2666 RAM
EVGA 650 G2 PSU
4x SSD's, totalling 3gb

·
Not New to OCN
1,750 Posts
I have found the instability usually has a negative effect on your score. Try bringing back the OC just a tiny amount and see if it's better.

As for your watercooled GPU, that's just kind of how it is for these cards. I didn't get any better clocks from my WC'ed 1080, but temps and more importantly noise are much improved.

·
Registered
2,302 Posts
You went from +200 to +750 on the memory? Back those clocks way down and slowly ramp them up. You're getting errors that are driving your score down.

·
Pinoy po mga koya
7,525 Posts
that's why I always do my patented "stare at dragon while overclocking test" on heaven benchmark when overclocking my gpus. there's always a sweet spot in Memory overclocking. once you go above that point it results to performance degradation so watch out for the fps counter on the upper right part of the screen and see if you're losing/gaining frames.

·
Registered
5 Posts