Overclock.net banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
MMO Enthusiast
924 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Turns out my old boombox (one of those huge black boxes) decided to die out of nowhere, so instead of buying a new one (which would me cost around 100-200 USD) decided to make one by myself, which would be a much less cheaper (still studying so my second name is cheap)
biggrin.gif

Been working on it for the past week and wanted to hear some advices as i'm not an audio expert (or anything close to it lol)
biggrin.gif

This was the main idea, but it got some changes through the process
tongue.gif

Electronics:

Amplifier: 1x TDA7492P 50w+50w (2 outputs, 50w per output, bluetooth receiver included).
Drivers/ Speakers: 2 x random ~200w 8ohm (bought them from my neighbor for 15USD)
Crossover: 1x JBL GTIX6-01 (came bundled with the speakers, pretty old afaik, couldnt fin any tech spec on google
rolleyes.gif
)

This is how everything is connected:

Photos:

Th sound is amazing and pretty loud, it can be easily heard from 10 meters away.

Things to do:
-Add power input female plug
-Add ON/OFF switch

PD: If this kind of post are not allowed in this sections please fell free to tell me so i can remove it.

·
Audiofool
3,486 Posts
Are those woofers full range units? I don't see any tweeters.

·
MMO Enthusiast
924 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJRhoades View Post

Are those woofers full range units? I don't see any tweeters.
Yes they are. About the tweeters i couldn't find any of them locally (i cant buy anything online for the moment), only some chinese models but rather not to waste my money on them
rolleyes.gif

·
Audiofool
3,486 Posts
Ah ok. I gotta say it looks really nice. Much better than the boombox I cooked up... though mine has more features.

·
*cough* Stock *cough*
2,771 Posts
With full range do you even need the crossover?