Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone I've never done a work log for any modding before so I am going to try it with this new project. With that said I will appreciate all comments and advice from everyone =]

I recently bit the bullet and decided to try out watercooling for the first time in a PC. This is something I have wanted to do for a long time and figured now would be great with the Chimp Challenge coming up soon. I'll be able to OC to over 4GHz and complete more WUs to help the team out.

So after doing some research in the WC forums I ended up going way over the edge and bought all of this stuff:

I have a thing for bright neon and UV colors so I figured I will go all out with this build and make something cool. I plan to paint the inside and various other parts of the case with some reflective yellow/greenish yard paint that I can get locally and have the green UV WC tubes along with the yellow FrozenQ reservoir as a contrast. Also, I have my PSU cables sleeved with UV orange(pronounced "ornch") so that will add a nice flavor to the look.

I spent the last two days learning the ins and outs of Sketchup and came up with a rough estimate of what I want the case to look like. I have the inside of the case colored yellow because I couldn't find a good neon color easily so just imagine the same color as my current case which looks like this:

Here are some pictures of what I expect the case to end up like:

So here is a list of things I want to accomplish:
  • Un-rivet the case and paint reflective UV yellow
  • Cut out the three side panel windows and install clear plexiglass [I might end up just cutting out the entire side depending on what the three windows look like]
  • Succesfully reassemble the case
  • Install watercooling parts, cut tubing to the right length, and test for leaks
  • Neatly wire up the fans and lights to the fan controllers and switches