Overclock.net banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi.. i'm really new to gtx400 series and sli.
but i came across my gtx 470 underclock so often. one running at stock and other one running at 405mhz. is there anyway to disable this auto underclock?? dont' really want to see 60% on one card and 15% on other.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
so any idea??? if there isnt' please let me know as well so i don't have to keep searching on net how to fix this

·
Registered
489 Posts
We kind of need more information than just that they keep underclocking, since this could be caused by a number of issues. My first guess would however be that they're getting overheated, well either that or they just aren't stressed enough to need to be at full speed the whole time.

Do please give us more info though.

·
Banned
5,335 Posts
yup, it underclocks when it's not used to save power and low heat output. When a game or movie/app is opened a single 470 will go back to it's normal clock. During gaming mode both 470s will operate at normal clock.

You can use msi profiles/rivatuner to make it run at full speed all the time, but it's really not needed.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
ok running 100% fan speed using precision. current temp is 45'C on top gpu and 39'C on bottom gpu. while i'm playing game goes to top 55'C on top and 50'C on bottom gpu.
but still my gpu's get underclock here and there.. sometimes 405mhz sometimes 607mhz.
regardless of heat. is there option somewhere i can just run at stock speed 100% of the time instead getting underclocked

·
Premium Member
5,777 Posts