Overclock.net banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,611 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here is what I am planning on getting for an HTPC/NAS build. I have read the various threads on the matter including Malveaus info. I need some suggestions for the PSU since i have no experience with the lower wattage stuff - just the high wattage stuff for workstations and servers. Any comments welcome.

Edit - i think i found a good PSU choice. Again any comments welcome as to my choices.

CPU: AMD Callisto

Board: Gigabyte

RAM: KVR 1GB, get 2 gigs to start i figure.

PSU: How about this OCZ one?

HDs: Ordered 2x2TB hitachis from the egg since they were on sale for 140 each. I know they are likely going to be noisier than the Greens but hey they were on sale.

Case: Picked up a black brand new Minitower at a garage sale this am for 8 bucks. Could not find a brand name for it. I'll post some photos later on tonight.

·
Registered
620 Posts
You could bump down to this if you wanted to. This would still let you add a decent video card at some point if you felt it necessary (not a ATI 5870 or GTX480 or anything like that though, more like a mid range card 5750-ish). Personally I'd hesitate to go "budget" on any of the cheaper offbrand 300-350W PSUs because I'd be nervous running them 24/7 for months. I'd make sure the minitower accepts full size ATX power supply as well.

·
Registered
304 Posts
Yeah man. Sweet lookin build. Looks like a great Mobo and you can posibly unlock that proc. Unlock and overclock FTW

·
Registered
1,611 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the comments. I am wondering if i will need to go with a mATX board however since the case has room for only 4 pci expansion slots in the back - e.g. 4 blank spaces.

·
Registered
1,611 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Yep its a mATX case. I measured the tray and similiar cheap ones on the egg appear to go for around $20-30

·
Solar Junkie
677 Posts
Heya,