Overclock.net banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello im New to the forums
Quite glad i found it actually
rolleyes.gif

Im building a new Gaming/Entertainment Rig
biggrin.gif
ive got budget of 1700 USD
cool.gif

I need some help looking over the items and checking for compatibility

GPU: Radeon HD 6970 2G
CPU: AMD Phenom II 1090T
MB: Asus Rampage III Extereme
RAM:X3 Kingston HyperX T1 DDR3 2G 1600 + HyperX Fan
PSU: Antec 1200W TruePower Quattro
Cooler: Corsair Hydro Series H70 Dual-Fan CPU Cooler
Chassis: Antec 1200
In search of good 32" HDTV
biggrin.gif
will get prolly SONY
Right now im already Using full Razer gear : Lycosa,Naga,Carcharias,Vespula and gonna get Nostromo as soon as i get my new rig
biggrin.gif
cant wait for it.

If you could help guys ^_^ ,please
As well, if you are so kind please answer few of my questions
Are there any pieces you would replace ?
Which MB is better the Rampage III Extereme but is about the same price?
Is H70 a good cooler or there are better, safer ones?
What chassis you would suggest, bigger then Antec 1200 ?
and my main question is Radeon 6970 2g better then radeon 5970 2g ?
also if i get 6970 i will get second one by next fall. I wont be going Eyefinity or multiple screens.

Update
1/16/2011
_______________

Here is what we came down to
GPU: Radeon HD 6970 2G ( will get second one later on)
CPU: AMD Phenom II 1090T ( maybe 1100T)
MB: ASUS Crosshair IV Extreme
RAM:X2 Kingston HyperX T1 DDR3 2G 1600 Dual Channel + HyperX Fan( will get 2 more later on)
PSU: Antec 1200W TruePower Quattro
Cooler: Corsair Hydro Series H70 Dual-Fan CPU Cooler
Chassis: Antec 1200
Monitor: Samsung SyncMaster P2770H Black 27"
not much of a change but still
totall price for all of that is 2272 USD >< bloody expansive
 

·
RTX Sight Unseen
Joined
·
2,373 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by tconroy135;11925127
Your gonna want this mobo: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131667

Go with this cooler, it is really spectacular.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835242001

Really Nice Monitor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824236101

Can you as TV as long as you have Digital Cable or Directv.
Hmm i was thinking about liquid cooling coz where i live its really hot .

The MOBO looks great i will definitely replace it the one ive chosen for this one.

Ye i thought about getting this Asus or dell one but i decided to go with 32" coz my pc will be an entertainment system as well as gaming rig
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
hey as a friend i will advise to you . above the parts you pick are cool,but 1090T and ASUS board is wrong decision . you should replace 1090T to Intel i7 2600K and ASUS TUF P67 or ASUS P8P67 Deluxe board or gigabyte boards are very good for overclocking and the cost little extra but you have brilliant performance . if you are fan of AMD than you have to wait for BULLDOZER(April,2011) . but if you want your PC in few days than you should pick up INTEL i7 2600K and ASUS TUF P67 or ASUS P8P67 Deluxe motherboards or gigabyte motherboards
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranveer;11925339
hey as a friend i will advise to you . above the parts you pick are cool,but 1090T and ASUS board is wrong decision . you should replace 1090T to Intel i7 2600K and ASUS TUF P67 or ASUS P8P67 Deluxe board or gigabyte boards are very good for overclocking and the cost little extra but you have brilliant performance . if you are fan of AMD than you have to wait for BULLDOZER(April,2011) . but if you want your PC in few days than you should pick up INTEL i7 2600K and ASUS TUF P67 or ASUS P8P67 Deluxe motherboards or gigabyte motherboards
Whats wrong with Phenom II and Asus boards?
btw Wont i7 work with the CrosshairIV Extereme ?
And I7 equal to Phenom II is double its price :O, and 2600 k are not out yet , are they?
Also yes, i am fan of AMD and ASUS not really into NVidea or Intel
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,086 Posts
Yeah the new intel is a power house but all the noobs are like OMG, OMG, OMG SB SB SB.

Go with what you want, but I would reconsider the tri channel ram kit because AMD uses dual channel instead of Tri channel.
So if you want more ram go 2 dual channel kits, because if you go a tri it will go into sigle channel and will hamper any performance gains that dual channel provides.

Also if you are looking for liquid cooling it is hard to go past the XSPC RASA kits, they are great cooling and cheap. But if you are looking at AIR cooling the best at the moment is the Theremalright Silver arrow.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by smash_mouth01;11925690
Yeah the new intel is a power house but all the noobs are like OMG, OMG, OMG SB SB SB.

Go with what you want, but I would reconsider the tri channel ram kit because AMD uses dual channel instead of Tri channel.
So if you want more ram go 2 dual channel kits, because if you go a tri it will go into sigle channel and will hamper any performance gains that dual channel provides.

Also if you are looking for liquid cooling it is hard to go past the XSPC RASA kits, they are great cooling and cheap. But if you are looking at AIR cooling the best at the moment is the Theremalright Silver arrow.
K that makes sense
so Dual channel HyperX T1 DDR3 should do right?
http://www.kingston.com/hyperx/products/t1_ddr3.asp

BTW sorry im not sure how to distinguish which one is dual channel which one is triple, how can i do it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,086 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormXLR;11925780
K that makes sense
so Dual channel HyperX T1 DDR3 should do right?
http://www.kingston.com/hyperx/products/t1_ddr3.asp

BTW sorry im not sure how to distinguish which one is dual channel which one is triple, how can i do it?
Also the hyperX are solid sticks of ram, I had a set of DDR II of them and they where like a Volkswagen beetle, you couldn't kill them.

Please don't take this as me trying to be a smart ass hat.

But the kits with three(3) sticks of RAM is a tri channel kit and the ones with two(2), well the last explains it's self.

Oh by the way cobber, welcome to the OCN. The place where stories like David and Goliath happen every day and legends are born.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Quote:


Originally Posted by smash_mouth01
View Post

Also the hyperX are solid sticks of ram, I had a set of DDR II of them and they where like a Volkswagen beetle, you couldn't kill them.

Please don't take this as me trying to be a smart ass hat.

But the kits with three(3) sticks of RAM is a tri channel kit and the ones with two(2), well the last explains it's self.

Oh by the way cobber, welcome to the OCN. The place where stories like David and Goliath happen every day and legends are born.

Oh okay sorry i see.
^_^
k ill get HyperX KHX2000C9D3T1K2/8GX X2-4G.

Well my main question still lies unanswered which is better 5970 vs 6970 in longterm i will be getting second 6970 if i buy it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,086 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by StormXLR;11933394
Oh okay sorry i see.
^_^
k ill get HyperX KHX2000C9D3T1K2/8GX X2-4G.

Well my main question still lies unanswered which is better 5970 vs 6970 in longterm i will be getting second 6970 if i buy it.
The 5970 is a dual GPU card and the 6970 is a single GPU card. The 6970 is just a shade behind the GX 580 in performance.

But the 6970 is cheaper than the 5970, and a pair of 6970 will give it to a 5970 at a fraction dearer than the single 5970.
In the long term it would be better to get the 6970 and pair it down the track with another, it will also have better tessellation performance also.

the performance goes a little like this:

Base pef:

5970

But HERE is a link that will give you an idea of performance.

But I would go the 6970 and another later on.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
162 Posts
go with the HAF X its defenitely better than Antec 1200!
the fans on it are REALLY big. and make less noise than Antec 1200
here is what i would do:
Buy a Coolermaster megaflow fan with red LED, and replace it with the standard in HAF X. the standard one u put in the top aside of the other one, for outtake. - i have done that, it looks great!

the little 120 in the back of the HAF X u turn around and make intake. one that fan u place the Corsair H70.

with that u have intake in the front, back and side.
And you hace 2 great outtake in the top.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,322 Posts
you cant use that AMD cpu with the rampage III extreme mobo...its not compitable...you need an I7 intel cpu for a rampageIIIExtreme...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
65 Posts
1200 Watt power supply? thats alot of overkill. with your specs all you really need is a 850.... Corsairs HX or if you want a great one the Corsiar AX850 will do the same job, just cheaper
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
20,621 Posts
On AMD 2000 CL9 is not worth it over 1600 at CL6-CL7.
Especially 9-11-9.
Aside from being tougher to stabilize, it's really not going to perform any better.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anips;12021446
go with the HAF X its defenitely better than Antec 1200!
the fans on it are REALLY big. and make less noise than Antec 1200
here is what i would do:
Buy a Coolermaster megaflow fan with red LED, and replace it with the standard in HAF X. the standard one u put in the top aside of the other one, for outtake. - i have done that, it looks great!

the little 120 in the back of the HAF X u turn around and make intake. one that fan u place the Corsair H70.

with that u have intake in the front, back and side.
And you hace 2 great outtake in the top.
My best friend has HAF X and all of his gear (rat7,cytek V5 etc) is red LED so i decided to go with ANTEC 1200 with blue LEDs and my good old razer gear will fit up perfectly.
Quote:
Originally Posted by d33r;12028091
you cant use that AMD cpu with the rampage III extreme mobo...its not compitable...you need an I7 intel cpu for a rampageIIIExtreme...
Ye but ASUS Crosshair IV Extreme should work just fine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irthizanovich;12028062
Why 6970? U should go for 5870X2 or 5970 cuz they r faster. As u ave budget, go for 1100t instead of 1090t.
6970 is cheaper and does the job right and its kinda more future proof

For screen im getting samsung p2770hd , been using 19" for 4 years never had problems ugrading to 27" samsung
http://reviews.cnet.com/lcd-monitors/samsung-syncmaster-p2770hd/4505-3174_7-33912090.html
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top