Overclock.net banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,965 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys! My sister is occasionally playing sims 3 and I,from time to time,play BF3 on her laptop.The temperatures average about 80-83C and they peak at around 89-90C on one of the cores.That's after 3 hours long gaming sessions.Are this temperatures save for a laptop? I don't have any knowledge when it comes down to laptops,i only know about personal computers.
Her laptop is the Lenovo Y570 with i7-2670QM,GT555M,8GB RAM DDR3.She doesn't have a cooling pad.Thx in advance!

·
Registered
981 Posts
To me personally that seem pretty hot, especially when it's in the 90C range. I'm no expert on laptops either so we shall wait till someone else chimes in. Anyway, there's my two cents
2cents.gif

·
Registered
900 Posts
Those temps are safe and seem about right for most laptops but it really could be better. I'm thinking she needs to clean the fans/heatsinks on the laptop, perhaps blow some compressed air into it to remove some of the dust. If this doesn't help then most likely it's a bad manufacturer thermal paste application.

If your up for it and if her warranty is out already then perhaps carefully taking the laptop apart and redo the thermal paste would help. Some people reports of temps reduction in over 8-12C just by redoing the thermal paste.

My last laptop dropped an incredible 12C just by redoing the thermal paste, HP did a horrible paste job on the older HP dv6 series.

The cheapest most effective and in fact I still think the best to this day laptop cooling pad is the Belkin cooler which curves and only has one fan in the middle. Belkin has recently updated this laptop cooler into the Belkin Cooling Lounge which cost around 30 bucks at Walmart. Still the best and most effective if you ask me.

·
Registered
1,965 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·