Overclock.net banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to mySQL and after searching in internet how to make a database finally i found how. I made a database by:

mysql> CREATE DATABASE databasename;

after i gave the privileges to the user

mysql> GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON *>* TO 'user'@'localhost' IDENTIFIED BY 'password' WITH GRANT OPTION;

after i did:

mysql> GRANT SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, DELETE, CREATE, DROP, INDEX, ALTER, CREATE TEMPORARY TABLES, LOCK TABLES ON database1.* TO 'user'@'localhost' IDENTIFIED BY 'password'

after i downloaded a free template just to see if the database works. i edited this:

$host = "localhost";
$user = "user";
$pwd = "pass";
$db = "test1";

and when i restarted apache to configure the settings and went to the internet and typed my ip it came Query Failed!

What's the problem? How can i solve it?

Any help is appriciated.

EDIT: btw forgot to tell you that i'm using Ubuntu as my OS

·
Registered
1,923 Posts
whats the exact template minus the details?

·
Registered
240 Posts
It would help to know what template and what error exactly you are getting.

EDIT:
usually you need to add tables to a database with columns before you can just connect a website to it.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by kyotejones
View Post

It would help to know what template and what error exactly you are getting.

EDIT:
usually you need to add tables to a database with columns before you can just connect a website to it.

i think that the problem is that i didn't made tables and columns :S Only the database any 1 can tell my how can i do that?

·
Registered
364 Posts
was there a file included with the template with the extension .sql ?

can you post the entire php script?

·
Registered
1,022 Posts
dude...use phpmyadmin to administer your db. It simplifies MySQL db administration compared to using the SQL console.

·
Registered
364 Posts