Overclock.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. So I'm new to watercooling and I'm looking to build my first loop. Current setup

NZXT H440
Gigabyte Z97 MX Gaming 5
i7 4790k overclocked to 4.7
2 x 8 GB Corsair Dominator RAM
XFX Vega 64 Liquid
Kraken X62 CPU cooler

So as you can see I'm currently running 2 aio's. They work ok. I get good CPU temps. The aio on the Vega 64 struggles. It can hit 60 to 65 C pretty easily. And still have a some what noisy fan while doing it. I've always wanted to get into custom loop building. I had originally thought I would start small and just replace my Kraken X62 with a custom CPU loop. Then I could add in the GPU waterblock down the road. I did quite a bit of research and made up a parts list for a CPU loop. https://www.dropbox.com/s/7ufoygm1fdk9nvb/Water Cooling Parts List.xlsx?dl=0 If I'm missing anything or if you don't agree with any of the parts please let me know as I'm very new to this. I also used the loop configurator on ek's website to compare. It came up with the same price as my custom list. However, it was missing a lot of the accessories like the pump mount and fittings necessary to put in a drain. So going that route ended up being 50 dollars or so more than my list and from what I have read that Hardware Labs radiator is superior to EK's.