Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
987 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Considering taking the Water Cooling plunge. Of course, i'm a noob when it comes to WC, so please be gentle. =)

my machine below is the beast.

Like to put blocks on the cpu (doh!), 2-3 Vid cards, and the chipset on the board (partly because the current heatsink keeps me from putting 3 vid cards into the computer).

Love to hear some suggestions on what I should get.

thanks

·
Premium Member
4,781 Posts
I would run 2 seperate loops
1st loop - CPU & NB
MCP355+XSPC Restop - $75+$40
MCR320QP - $53
Dtek Fuzion V2 - $60
Northbridge block, not sure which one, look for an EK one.

Loop 2 - GPU's
MCP355+XSPC Res Top - $75+$40
2 Dtek Fuzion GFX Blocks - $47+$47
2 Dtek GFX Unisinks - $35+$35
MC320QP

Or you may be able to do 1 giant loop with a 480GTX. I will let some others answer that. I gotta run to school but I will post links when I get back.

·
Banned
9,264 Posts
I'd SERIOUSLY go for a single loop
several advantages are:
-maintenance.. its easier to drain and refill a single loop
-single reservoir... just a tiny difference in cost
-single (though large) radiator... cheaper than 2 smaller ones.
-safety... i'll explain this next.

first of all, a single extreme end loop will, like dual loops, use 2 pumps.
that's for two reasons. A) you will get much better flow trough all those blocks, especially (and I recommend doing this) if you buy the Swiftech NB-MAX block for your awesome motherboard (though a single good pump will still do perfectly fine in such a large loop) and B) if one pump fails, the other one will still keep your hardware from burning up, while if you had to do this with dual loops... well, who wants to pay for 4 pumps?