Overclock.net banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Going to be putting in an order Monday to Newegg for my new build. I've come to some brain blockage when trying to figure out the right type of ram I should use. Even searching on the forums here I can't find a solid answer maybe I'm not searching right ? questions keep popping into my head.

I'm going with the GIGABYTE 990FXA UD3 AM3+ motherboard and AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2GHz cpu. After reading here on the forums I see a lot of people saying that AMD boards will under clock with the rams mhz. Since the board I'm going with supports DDR3 2000Mhz (PC3 16000) will the board under clock this ram to something like 1333Mhz ? Also is going with 4 sticks of ram better than 2 sticks or the opposite (4 x 2gb or 2 x 4gb) ?

It's been about 2 and half years since I've built a decent PC and haven't kept up with how the little things work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
You're getting the same mobo and CPU that I just got haha


I haven't installed anything yet, so I can't tell you first hand, but I have also heard of some AMD boards underclocking RAM. As far as I know, you can just manually bring it back up to stock clock.

As for the 2 vs 4 sticks, I think it's better to have less because it eats up power. The less RAM you have eating up your power, the more you should be able to give to your CPU. Also, since 4gb sticks are so inexpensive now, I'd just go with 2 4gbs in your position. Should be about 50 bucks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah that mobo and cpu combo for the price just looked too good to me
Was looking at the CORSAIR XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000), I was just worried what if I bought the 2000 it would under clock and make no sense buying it in the first place.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
I just realized that I said 2000mhz ram should be 50 bucks haha. I read 2000 but thought 1600. My bad.

I would probably just buy 1866 or 1600 and overclock it. I haven't been checking prices on the 2000s but I'm sure they're not amazing. I ended up going 1600, but the highest I'd go after that is 1866. Still pretty reasonably priced, and I'm sure it can be pushed over 2000 if you really want it to be.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
157 Posts
If you're set on 2000, I'd say go for it. Corsair is a pretty sick brand. However, I picked up 16GB of 1600mhz Corsair Vengeance about a week ago for $100 CAD and I think you can get 8GB of 1866 for about 70 or 80 bucks. Idk how much of an overclock this mobo supports, but honestly I'd say just go with the 1866 and get it past 2000. My $0.02 anyway. After all, that savings can pay for a CM212 or something.
 

·
OG AMD
Joined
·
8,954 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Quote:


Originally Posted by Redwoodz
View Post

These GSKill's are much better than the Corsiar's linked
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820231431
even these are better
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820231445

For AMD Thuban's-you want RAM speeds from 1600 to 1866MHz,and the lowest timings and voltage.2000MHz is possible-but most chips can't do it.

Did some more reading up here on the forums and the feedback on newegg, defiantly agree with you and going with the G.Skill http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16820231445
 

·
RPG Gamer
Joined
·
4,224 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,107 Posts
1st of all you must k*ll yourself to use 2000mhz ram on AMD CPU.
You will never ever reach that speed 2000mhz ram. Yes your mobo supports it but not CPU. AMD CPU's only supports 1333 generic. It will drop to 1333 you will set it to 1600 with manual timings and voltage as well.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top