Overclock.net banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, it's been a while since I've been in the loop of things. Been across the puddle in the big sandbox. Well, I have a little money, but I don't want to blow my whole wad on a 939 mobo/proc because I've read somewhere (ET, or Max PC) that AMD is adopting the DDR2 craze and that the procs will not be compatible. So far though, for my new rig, I'm going with the Koolance PC3-426SL case, http://www.xoxide.com/koolance-pc3-4...se-silver.html , and AMD X2 4400 , Probably 2GB of patriot memory ( Cas-2 , Timing 2-3-2-5, although I don't know much about the ram specs, feel free to help) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...40#DetailSpecs , and Probably the X-fi Fatal1ty, because I want the Midi ports. I also have a Gigabyte 6600 GT that I purchased while in Iraq, although now it's damn near obsolete, but I'm planning on getting another one and running a cheap SLI rig, I'm not extremely worried about graphics, but I figure it would be decent in SLI.

I've looked at the Fatal1ty mobo from Abit, looks nice, and the guru stuff seems pretty user friendly as I'm new to OC'ing. But I'd also like to know what's up on the Asus or other manufaturer's lines for the OC community. Also going to add some waterblocks for Ram and my GPU ('s) later on down the line. let me know what you guys think of the plans so far, and
if you have any suggestions, let me know. I know about the war between the X2 3800 and 4400 , but for my needs the 4400 will be better because I tend to run a few synthesiser apps at a time, the extra boost will help. Thanx all, hope this isn't too long.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
45,674 Posts
The Guru is friendly... but you only what to play with it... kind of buggy.
Do your OCing in the BIOS!
I'd lean to an DFI or Asus MB though... preferably a DFI-SLI.
On the CPU... good choice 1024 cache... or a simular Opty depending on price.
On the RAM... that has variables depending on the MB you chose... to a degree... if you went with BH5 you'll need to have the necessary vdimm to get the performance out of it. Not sure what chips the Patriot has but those are good timings.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: tankertuff2002

·
Registered
Joined
·
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Bh5???
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
203 Posts
I would not use the Fatal1ty boards I had one in this system (still need to updated my profile) and it never was stable at even stock settings (not that I even got to try anything else).

I would go with DFI or asus just as "The Duke" said. If you want more options and a better chance for a higher overclock go with DFI if you want something more simple but still with the ability to get a good overclock go with asus.

BH5 is a type of memory that has very low timings (2-2-2-5) but can't reach the speed/timings at higher speeds of say TCCD. If you plan on not overclocking too much or really like to play with things BH5 sticks might be good. But for higher memory speeds I'd go with TCCD.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I've been shopping around and read that there's a few instances where corsair memory didn't work so well with the DFI mobos, I'm thinking the lanparty SLI-DR and OCZ memory may make the list, does that sound like a good combo?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
14,732 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by tankertuff2002

I've been shopping around and read that there's a few instances where corsair memory didn't work so well with the DFI mobos, I'm thinking the lanparty SLI-DR and OCZ memory may make the list, does that sound like a good combo?

Try looking at some Geil or G. Skill ram for the DFI. Although most OCZ memory is fine, there's a "cold boot" bug with the OCZ VZ series. Btw, stay away from the Abit Fatal1ty board, it's overpriced and underperforms.
Edit: You don't need waterblocks for ram. At most, simply rigging up a fan to blow onto them is more than enough.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: tankertuff2002

·
Registered
Joined
·
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
thanx, and yeah, i figured watercooling the ram is overkill, but that's what all of this is about , right?!
lol. I just figured it'd look sweet on top of the added stability. Also, I'm trying to keep it as quiet as possible. So, with the DFI Lanparty SLI-DR Elite, Geil and G.Skill ram are compatible? I have read a few bad reviews about OCZ since I last posted.

BTW do you happen to know offhand what type of memory modules those brands use, or where I could find a list of Manufacturers and types of memory they use?

The fatal1ty is definately on the ***** list. lol
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
14,732 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by tankertuff2002

thanx, and yeah, i figured watercooling the ram is overkill, but that's what all of this is about , right?!
lol. I just figured it'd look sweet on top of the added stability. Also, I'm trying to keep it as quiet as possible. So, with the DFI Lanparty SLI-DR Elite, Geil and G.Skill ram are compatible? I have read a few bad reviews about OCZ since I last posted.

BTW do you happen to know offhand what type of memory modules those brands use, or where I could find a list of Manufacturers and types of memory they use?

The fatal1ty is definately on the ***** list. lol

I mistyped in the above post, that should read VX series, not VZ. As far as which ICs are on the ram, every brand uses different ICs on their different models, so you can't blanket that. For instance, some OCZ is TCCD and some is Hynix. You'll have to ask a more specific question regarding the actual models you're looking at. Again, I don't think watercooling your ram is necessary and it will hamper the effectiveness of your watercooling for every device that you add. (hdd,chipset,cpu,gpu,etc)
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: tankertuff2002

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
You will like that patriot memory....Patriot is what I build all the computers with...and never had a stick go bad it is TCCD chips (at least the XBLK are), as well never had a compatibility issue either and have used many different mobo for different people...I prefer Abit myself as others don't...Asus are good solid boards as well as some of the Epox but I also have never used DFI but know they are good from all the reviews I have read....
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: tankertuff2002

·
Registered
Joined
·
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
45,674 Posts
Some very good choices there
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top