Intel Q9950 2.83
ASUS P5Q Pro motherboard
8 Gigs of OCZ Platinum 1066 Memory
WD 1 TB 7200 Harddrive
EVGA 9800GTX+ O.C. edition
Corsair 650W Powersupply
Artic Freezing Pro 7 Cooling Fan
Two LG DVD Drives 22X

What I want to do is get a stable 3.6 or higher O.C with this setup. I managed to get a stable 3.4 with a FSB of 400 x 8.5. Not sure what else I need to go to get those kind of numbers. Any help would be greatly appreciated since I am new to this OCing thing.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I just built a computer with the following specs:
Intel Q9950 2.83
ASUS P5Q Pro motherboard
8 Gigs of OCZ Platinum 1066 Memory
WD 1 TB 7200 Harddrive
EVGA 9800GTX+ O.C. edition
Corsair 650W Powersupply
Artic Freezing Pro 7 Cooling Fan
Two LG DVD Drives 22X

What I want to do is get a stable 3.6 or higher O.C with this setup. I managed to get a stable 3.4 with a FSB of 400 x 8.5 and temps not exceeding 51 runing torture test with Prime95. Not sure what else I need to do to get a stable 3.6. Any help would be greatly appreciated since I am new to this OCing thing.

·
Registered
521 Posts
Few tips I know for the P5Q;

Disable speedstepping, EIST, C1/E Anything with those names. They are power saving features that can hinder your overclock.

Also look at the stickers on your RAM for the factory timings and voltage. Then go into the BIOS and enter in the 4 timing numbers (ex. 5-5-5-15). Next go to the DRAM frequency and change it to the one at the very top of the list, this will put your RAM in a 1:1 ratio with the FSB.

If any of what I'm saying seems new to you, then try give this a quick browse http://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/...ing-guide.html

Other than that I'm not familiar with the Q9550 personally and I'm sure there is someone here that can inform you better than me.

·
Registered
76 Posts