Overclock.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2,260 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HI, I am just experimenting with some songs on guitar...not planning on getting into guitar big time. Just want to play a few things on guitar from some songs.
Any hoo, I am a noob at guitar...although i can play the begining to "thunder struck" which so I have heard isn't hard. I was just directed how to do it.
What I want to know is how the world am I supposed to read guitar tabs? What do the letters mean behind the numbers? I know what eadgbe is, and I know what the numbers mean, but I want to know how to read these things and play them.

For example... Wanted deadalive.

How would I play that...what I mean is how do I pluck the strings and how frequent, and which ones, and all that great stuff...any help is greatly appreciated!

·
Premium Member
7,862 Posts
according to that tab there is no plucking...do you know how to read tab?

As it appears on the screen.......

----------- The smallest, highest pitch string
-----------
-----------
-----------
-----------
----------- The thickest, lowest sound tab

Upside down from the way you hold it kinda...when it says something like

-----------
-----------
--4--------
-----------
---------7-
-----------

You will play the 4th Fret on the 3rd string from the bottom of the guitar, and then since the 7 comes after it, play the 7th fret on the second string from the top...dig it?

·
Registered
2,260 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Quote:
according to that tab there is no plucking...do you know how to read tab?

As it appears on the screen.......

----------- The smallest, highest pitch string
-----------
-----------
-----------
-----------
----------- The thickest, lowest sound tab

Upside down from the way you hold it kinda...when it says something like

-----------
-----------
--4--------
-----------
---------7-
-----------