Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, i got a Asus P5N-D, nForce-750i SLI motherboard with a e8500, and i would like to clock my e8500 to around 3.6-4k.
Anyone know how to do this? im VERY VERY new to overclocking and cant do much then get to the bios.
Im using a Asus GF 8800gt 512 TOP
Corsair TWIN2X 6400 DDR2, 4096MB CL5, Kit w/two matched CM2X2048-6400 Dimm's
And i dont know really how to do this stuff so please if someone know, please help me ^^
Would be best with a step to step guide with pictures!

Got one more question, Can i use my GF card that is "TOP" with a same model but not "Top" in SLI mode?

Ty

·
Premium Member
5,967 Posts
Ok, welcome to the overclock.net. The first thing you should do is read some of the great guides on this sight, and google some more if those aren't clear. Generally speaking, finding a guide with exact pictures from you bios is hard, because bios are always being updated and they tend to be layed out a little differently form board to board.

With that board you should be able to hit 3.8ghz without a problem. Set the vcore to 2.5, up the FSB to 400, make sure the multiplier is set to 9.5, and make sure to disable speed step, and all other cpu power saving features (as they will annoyingly underclock your CPU when doing simple stuff). Do the research and check out the guides. If you have questions feel free to post but be specific so we can help you better.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Okey, ill try that!
thanks alot. Btw, the other question...Can i use my GF card that is "TOP" with a same model but not "Top" in SLI mode?

·
Registered
1,473 Posts
You should be able to use the video cards, as long as they are the same manufacturer and same GFX card.

Try these settings for your E8500 (425x9.5) 4037.5mhz: QDR = 1700mhz
1.3v CPU
1.48v HT
1.48v NB
1.5v SB
memory voltage set to your manufacturer's spec.

Unlink your memory for now and put it to 800mhz.

·
:)