Overclock.net banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,766 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I took the 2nd 9800GTX+ out of the old machine and put it in my GAMER rig this morning.

I get the following error in the FAHlog file:

[17:38:28] *------------------------------*
[17:38:28] [email protected] GPU Core
[17:38:28] Version 1.31 (Tue Sep 15 10:57:42 PDT 2009)
[17:38:28]
[17:38:28] Compiler : Microsoft (R) 32-bit C/C++ Optimizing Compiler Version 14.00.50727.762 for 80x86
[17:38:28] Build host: amoeba
[17:38:28] Board Type: Nvidia
[17:38:28] Core :
[17:38:28] Preparing to commence simulation
[17:38:28] - Looking at optimizations...
[17:38:28] DeleteFrameFiles: successfully deleted file=work/wudata_01.ckp
[17:38:28] - Created dyn
[17:38:28] - Files status OK
[17:38:28] - Expanded 73857 -> 383588 (decompressed 519.3 percent)
[17:38:28] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=73857 data_size=383588, decompressed_data_size=383588 diff=0
[17:38:28] - Digital signature verified
[17:38:28]
[17:38:28] Project: 6603 (Run 3, Clone 367, Gen 303)
[17:38:28]
[17:38:28] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[17:38:28] Entering M.D.
[17:38:34] Tpr hash work/wudata_01.tpr: 3986760854 699907104 2919159533 1434292254 1885215653
[17:38:34]
[17:38:34] Calling fah_main args: 14 usage=100
[17:38:34]
[17:38:34] mdrun_gpu returned
[17:38:34] Going to send back what have done -- stepsTotalG=0
[17:38:34] Work fraction=0.0000 steps=0.
[17:38:38] logfile size=4947 infoLength=4947 edr=0 trr=25
[17:38:38] + Opened results file
[17:38:38] - Writing 5485 bytes of core data to disk...
[17:38:38] Done: 4973 -> 1861 (compressed to 37.4 percent)
[17:38:38] ... Done.
[17:38:38] DeleteFrameFiles: successfully deleted file=work/wudata_01.ckp
[17:38:38]
[17:38:38] [email protected] Core Shutdown: UNSTABLE_MACHINE
[17:38:42] CoreStatus = 7A (122)
[17:38:42] Sending work to server
[17:38:42] Project: 6603 (Run 3, Clone 367, Gen 303)

Can anyone tell me how to resolve this? This GPU was just folding fine in another rig last night, so I know it is not unstable.

Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,766 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Well, I don't know what the heck happened. I used to run both cards in this machine, but for some reason it won't work. I even plugged into another port on the TV to "fool" it. Nada.

I never did fold on both GPUs. Just one. Maybe there's a motherboard issue or something like weak power from the power supply (even tho the PSU is 1100W).

I'll just move the 2nd card to another rig at some point.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,766 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Quote:

Originally Posted by AvgWhiteGuy View Post
Make sure it's -gpu 1 and not -gpu1 but I don't think it'd start without being right.
Yeah it was -gpu 1. I just typoed there.

Quote:

Originally Posted by lordikon View Post
I only see that error when I have SLI enabled.
That's the first thought I had. But, I went into the BIOS and found no SLi config stuff. And, I went into nVidia control panel and there was nothing for SLi and the setting for PhysX was disabled.

I might try re-loading the driver. It might be need to be reloaded now that I have 2 cards back in there.

Quote:

Originally Posted by ducrider View Post
Delete all your folding gpu files and follow this guide to set it back up.I have done this on 2 of my rigs with great results.
http://www.overclock.net/overclock-n...ti-nvidia.html
I might give this a try at some point. I am gonna go try and login to XFX and get their drivers for the GPU and reload them and see if that makes a difference first.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,766 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Well, here's what I've found out:

Evidently, the whole time I had 2 cards in the box it was never running 2 cards. The board is evidently a Crossfire mobo, and not a SLi mobo.

Even though I'm not trying to run an SLi config and I'm just trying to address 2 individual cards, the board still will not address them both because they are nVidia.

There is some Chinese-based hardware BIOS hack/beta file, but I am not going to attempt that.

I am just going to wait until my i7 parts are all in, and I will put the 9800GTX+ in that rig when I put it online.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
46,114 Posts
Hmm... is that true for all XFire motherboards? That if you only have nVidia GPUs, they won't both be recognised?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,832 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by jck View Post
Well, here's what I've found out:

Evidently, the whole time I had 2 cards in the box it was never running 2 cards. The board is evidently a Crossfire mobo, and not a SLi mobo.

Even though I'm not trying to run an SLi config and I'm just trying to address 2 individual cards, the board still will not address them both because they are nVidia.

There is some Chinese-based hardware BIOS hack/beta file, but I am not going to attempt that.

I am just going to wait until my i7 parts are all in, and I will put the 9800GTX+ in that rig when I put it online.
For some reason I just dont think so.I have a MSI 890fxa-gd70 and I have folded 3 nvidia cards on it.Down load the latest drivers.Go to the device manager and make sure it has the drivers installed for each card.Windows does not install drivers for multi card just once.It has to install them for each card.You will have your main card in the device manager and you will see another device that has a yellow yield right beside it.Right click it and click update drivers.Windows will install the latest drivers for it.Reboot and then it should be folding heaven.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,659 Posts
For folding it doesn't matter if it's CF or SLI. Like ducrider, I have 3 cards in a K9A2 Platinum, 2 more in a second one, and 2 cards in my 790FX-GD70. All of these are CF boards and I'm having no problems making it work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,766 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
Quote:

Originally Posted by zodac View Post
Hmm... is that true for all XFire motherboards? That if you only have nVidia GPUs, they won't both be recognised?

Quote:

Originally Posted by ducrider View Post
For some reason I just dont think so.I have a MSI 890fxa-gd70 and I have folded 3 nvidia cards on it.Down load the latest drivers.Go to the device manager and make sure it has the drivers installed for each card.Windows does not install drivers for multi card just once.It has to install them for each card.You will have your main card in the device manager and you will see another device that has a yellow yield right beside it.Right click it and click update drivers.Windows will install the latest drivers for it.Reboot and then it should be folding heaven.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AvgWhiteGuy View Post
For folding it doesn't matter if it's CF or SLI. Like ducrider, I have 3 cards in a K9A2 Platinum, 2 more in a second one, and 2 cards in my 790FX-GD70. All of these are CF boards and I'm having no problems making it work.
I don't think it's only because of the board being Crossfire, but because my board is a ******ed Xfire board. It's a Biostar TA790GX 128M, which I've been reading about having issues with 8800 an 9800 series cards like mine is giving me.

I think it has to do with the board and how its BIOS is programmed. I even went in and set the multicard setting to "Enabled" to make sure. It didn't help.

I was thinking back too. I think I didn't put both of the 9800s both in that machine. I think I had put 1 in and it was working good enough, and put the other in a box.

Anyways, it's not gonna work. I've tried 191, 195, and 197 drivers from nVidia, and the newest drivers from XFX. All do the same thing. Same error.

I think it's a mobo issue that I got a cheapo mobo that doesn't wanna play nice.

If all goes well, I'll have a i7 online by October 1.
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top