Overclock.net banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yo, im just learning C++ and the class has moved onto classes. Im having a problem with the scope of an object.

The problem appears to be that im trying to access an object that was created in a seperate method. Thats as far as i see it. I dont know how i would reference the object from another method.

Purpose: The program generates random numbers of a dice (1 - 6) if the random value of the dice roll != 6 then player loses 1 point. If the roll 5 times and the score is decremented to 0 then they lose. The aim is to roll a 6 to win as quick as possible. The player has an initial score of 5 or 5 'lives'

Ahem, you can critisize and point out other amateurish mistakes only after youve helped
Ive been doing this only 3 weeks

Code:

Code:
void Game::startGame()
{

cout << "Start dice game...n";

for(int i = 5; playerLose = 1; i++)    //playerLose is a boolean check
{

Dice d1;      // creating Dice object. I dont even know if your allowed to create 
an object for a class in another class's method. Seems like it might be bad practice or something.
Game::turn();//makes the game roll the dice

if (d1.getValue() != 6)
{
decrementScore();
}
else
{
Win();
break;
}

if (getScore() == 0)
{
Lose();
break;
}

}
return;
}

void Game::turn()
{
d1.roll();    // <---- my compiler is telling me "error C2065: 'd1' : 
undeclared identifier" and "error C2228: left of '.roll' must have 
class/struct/union" Im basically seeing that as the compiler saying "This aint 
no object i know about!" Even though i created it in the startGame() method. 
I just need to tell it what object im talking about.
cout << d1.getValue() << "  " << getScore() << endl; // 
same thing with d1.getValue in this line.
return;
}

·
Premium Member
1,592 Posts
Scope is your problem.