Overclock.net banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Banned
1,467 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok so i have some crappy Ultra ddr 400 ram. Right now im running it at 133, but with my oc it brings it right back up to 200mhz. Now my question, is 2.9 volts to much for regular ram? I have great cooling and it doesnt seem to be getting hot. Also what is better. 1T command rate with cas 3 or! 2T command rate with cas 2.5 . with the 1T command rate i can run my timmings at 3-3-3-8 with the 2t command rate i can run 2.5-3-3-7 . And is 3 volts pushing it? lol

·
Premium Member
65,162 Posts
2.9v for DDR isn't too bad. OCZ and Corsair both allow RAM to hit 2.9v before their warranties are voided. 3.0v is a lot but isn't absurd. However, not all motherboards allow that much in the BIOS.

·
Registered
3,140 Posts
I'd go with 3-3-3-8 1T.

Maybe you could try tighter timings at CAS 3, say, 3-3-3-5 1T or 3-3-2-5 1T......give it a try

·
Registered
708 Posts
Now I'm not too experienced with DDR, but from what I know it depends on the chips you have in your ram really, but 3v seems pretty safe. Do you have active cooling on your ram?

·
Premium Member
65,162 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by Joeking78 View Post
I'd go with 3-3-3-8 1T.

Maybe you could try tighter timings at CAS 3, say, 3-3-3-5 1T or 3-3-2-5 1T......give it a try
CAS-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-Command Rate

You want to make sure that your tRAS < CAS + tRCD. Therefore, try 3-3-2-7-1T instead.

·
Registered
3,140 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by DuckieHo View Post
CAS-tRCD-tRP-tRAS-Command Rate

You want to make sure that your tRAS < CAS + tRCD. Therefore, try 3-3-2-7-1T instead.
I ran 3-3-2-5 1T with my old XMS 4400 Pro at 520mhz, it loved it

·
Registered
2,465 Posts
your voltage is really dependent on the IC's you have in your chips. 2.9v isn't bad at all. my TCCD only requires 2.85v to get wayyyyyyyyyy high in speeds.