Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 9799 Posts

·
AMD overclocker/developer
Joined
·
1,624 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)

AMD Ryzen Memory Tweaking & Overclocking Guide

https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/Ryzen_Memory_Tweaking_Overclocking_Guide/

MEMbench 0.6 README
https://www.overclock.net/forum/27960952-post4412.html


HOW USE MEMTEST in MEMbench
https://www.overclock.net/forum/28069030-post5047.html


DRAM Calculator for Ryzen™ 1.7.3 + MEMbench 0.8

Last update : 14 May





Download:
Techpowerup link
Guru3d link
WCCFTECH link
Сomputerbase.de link
Techspot link


Video instruction:

Instruction + recommendations

The results of a successful overclocking can be seen here:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1ubpbdMcdiS37g_dReCX-49Auk-aRAcTs-8cVNL1caHo/edit#gid=725475388
https://www.overclock.net/t/1624603/rog-crosshair-vi-overclocking-thread/29140_20#post_26416693

Some interesting posts:
What is a single error?
Influence of СLDO_VDDP on MEMCLK "holes"
Effect of temperature and higher voltage on memory stability
Effect of the CPU frequency on the stability of the RAM

Great gratitude STaRDoGG , slafniy , ajc9988 and A_z_z_y for help !

This program is publicly available for publication in news resources and preparation of reviews. The copyright to the logic of the program and the product is present.​
 

·
New001
Joined
·
2,668 Posts
dont have a ryzen system, but nice work!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
247 Posts
Good stuff, <img alt="thumbsupsmiley.png" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumbsupsmiley.png"> maybe people can stop complaining in the Crosshair board about you taking the board over with your calc <img alt="rolleyes.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif"><br><br>
Should probably update your sig as well to point here
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
191 Posts
nice to see you have your own thread now<br><br>
it will be easier to find the updates 1usmus<br><br>
i can also confirm this program does make things a lot easier with setting up the ram on ryzen <img alt="thumb.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif">
 

·
roaming in his fishtank
Joined
·
197 Posts
<p>Tried it with my 4*16Gb of f4-3200c14 16gtz, able to boot but memtest found error really fast so i'll try later to meddle with the timmings more. Currently going to work for the next 36 hrs ;'(.</p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,639 Posts
Tested timings from V2 as i see V3 gives same numbers.<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141864/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="3141864" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141864/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 197px"></a><br><br><br>
500% give or take 1 hour Y-Cruncher and loads LOADS of IBT runs.<br><br>
With those timings my system Scores more. Its more responsive at lower volts !!! dont think i can get anything more from this motherboard cpu and ddr combo lol <img alt="biggrin.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/biggrin.gif"><br><br>
Is it ok to link this topic on forums ?? Deffo out of alpha stage even passed beta stage !!!
 

·
Top kek
Joined
·
3,555 Posts
You need to mention, people need to be REAL careful with the Taiphoon Burner. Or they may brick their RAM sticks.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: Fright

·
Registered
Joined
·
247 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram#post_26417654" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>lordzed83</strong> <a href="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram#post_26417654"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Tested timings from V2 as i see V3 gives same numbers.<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141864/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="3141864" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141864/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 197px"></a><br><br><br>
500% give or take 1 hour Y-Cruncher and loads LOADS of IBT runs.<br><br>
With those timings my system Scores more. Its more responsive at lower volts !!! dont think i can get anything more from this motherboard cpu and ddr combo lol <img alt="biggrin.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/biggrin.gif"><br><br>
Is it ok to link this topic on forums ?? Deffo out of alpha stage even passed beta stage !!!</div>
</div>
<br>
I already went ahead and linked it, but as far it being out of any stage.... ehh? I mean thats up to 1usmus to decided if he feels its truly ready for the limelight and well... some sort of additional calc variable for blk offset would be nice. <img alt="biggrin.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/biggrin.gif"> No idea how hard it would be or if it even matters, I'm ganna end up seeing if I get any sort of different results with gear down disabled now that memory is completely strapped or if a looser tRC or using tRFC ult instead does me any favors in that regard.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram#post_26417659" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>ku4eto</strong> <a href="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram#post_26417659"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
You need to mention, people need to be REAL careful with the Taiphoon Burner. Or they may brick their RAM sticks.</div>
</div>
<br>
How ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
247 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram#post_26417739" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Jeager</strong> <a href="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram#post_26417739"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br><div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram#post_26417659" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>ku4eto</strong> <a href="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram#post_26417659"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
You need to mention, people need to be REAL careful with the Taiphoon Burner. Or they may brick their RAM sticks.</div>
</div>
How ?</div>
</div>
<br>
if have Asus aura or a similar program that accesses the spd bus running and active while attempting to read the spd of a ram stick in typhoon burner you can potentially corrupt it
 

·
PC Enthousiast
Joined
·
430 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram#post_26417654" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>lordzed83</strong> <a href="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram#post_26417654"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br><a class="spoiler-link H-spoiler-toggle" href="#"><strong>Warning: Spoiler!</strong> <span class="spoiler-help">(Click to show)</span></a><div class="spoiler-hidden">Tested timings from V2 as i see V3 gives same numbers.<br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141864/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="3141864" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141864/width/350/height/700/flags/LL" style="; width: 350px; height: 197px"></a><br><br><br>
500% give or take 1 hour Y-Cruncher and loads LOADS of IBT runs.<br><br>
With those timings my system Scores more. Its more responsive at lower volts !!! dont think i can get anything more from this motherboard cpu and ddr combo lol <img alt="biggrin.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/biggrin.gif"><br><br>
Is it ok to link this topic on forums ??</div>
Deffo out of alpha stage even passed beta stage !!!</div>
</div>
Don't think it's ready yet to go out of Beta stage<br>
Still some non-functioning features in it<br>
Plus... usmus is still working on finetuning the calculation(s) of certain timings (i asume)
 

·
AMD overclocker/developer
Joined
·
1,624 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
Thanks guys for advice and support <img alt="smile.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/smile.gif"><br><br>
I think at the current stage the program has a beta stage, the main functions work but you still need to work on the balance, the nuances turned out to be much more than just using the formula for calculations<br><br>
the difference between 0.9.9 2 and 0.9.9 3 in optimizing the download speed, the changed interface and instructions <img alt="smile.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/smile.gif"><br><br><div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram/0_20#post_26417659" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>ku4eto</strong> <a href="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram/0_20#post_26417659"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
You need to mention, people need to be REAL careful with the Taiphoon Burner. Or they may brick their RAM sticks.</div>
</div>
<br>
it's impossible to spoil anything <img alt="smile.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/smile.gif"><br><div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram/0_20#post_26417641" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>poisson21</strong> <a href="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram/0_20#post_26417641"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Tried it with my 4*16Gb of f4-3200c14 16gtz, able to boot but memtest found error really fast so i'll try later to meddle with the timmings more. Currently going to work for the next 36 hrs ;'(.</div>
</div>
<br>
most likely the problem in the settings of "RTT" or "proODT", it is worth checking all
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
59 Posts
Thanks for your work i´m now using my 4 DPC B-Die at 3466 fast @1,45v , but there is still a issue:<br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141978/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="3141978" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141978/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 341px"></a><br><br>
i would be very thankful if you would edit that out or change it to something else
 

·
Overclock.net user
Joined
·
447 Posts
For my kit, RGB GSkill 3600C16 2x8Gb, I can use TheStilt fast timings for 3200 Mhz profile with the 3466 speed. <img alt="biggrin.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/biggrin.gif"><br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141972/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="3141972" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141972/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 481px"></a><br><br><br>
I've tweaked also some timings (tRRDS from 6 to 4; tFAW from 36 to 24; tWRWR SD and DD from 7 to 5; and tRDRD SD and DD from 5 to 3 and last tCKE from 9 to 1) a bit strictly and the system is benchable and playable (I think to be rock stable I've to play also with other settings as CLDO_VDDP and VDDP) <img alt="tongue.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/tongue.gif"><br><br>
Due my low knowledge, when possible, I prefer to leave the settings on auto. <img alt="redface.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/redface.gif"><br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141970/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="3141970" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141970/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 341px"></a><br><br><br>
One of the most important thing (for my experience on this platform) to boot in my case are also the BGS and GDM settings. <img alt="rolleyes.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif"><br><br>
The settings proposed in that fields are really a no go for me.<br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141967/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="3141967" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141967/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 599px"></a><br><br>
Good work 1usmus <img alt="thumb.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif">
 

·
AMD overclocker/developer
Joined
·
1,624 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram/0_20#post_26417921" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>ibeat117</strong> <a href="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram/0_20#post_26417921"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Thanks for your work i´m now using my 4 DPC B-Die at 3466 fast @1,45v , but there is still a issue:<br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141978/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="3141978" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141978/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 341px"></a><br><br>
i would be very thankful if you would edit that out or change it to something else</div>
</div>
<br>
agree, corrected, link updated
 

·
AMD overclocker/developer
Joined
·
1,624 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram/0_20#post_26417929" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>LicSqualo</strong> <a href="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram/0_20#post_26417929"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
For my kit, RGB GSkill 3600C16 2x8Gb, I can use TheStilt fast timings for 3200 Mhz profile with the 3466 speed. <img alt="biggrin.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/biggrin.gif"><br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141972/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="3141972" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141972/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 481px"></a><br><br><br>
I've tweaked also some timings (tRRDS from 6 to 4; tFAW from 36 to 24; tWRWR SD and DD from 7 to 5; and tRDRD SD and DD from 5 to 3 and last tCKE from 9 to 1) a bit strictly and the system is benchable and playable (I think to be rock stable I've to play also with other settings as CLDO_VDDP and VDDP) <img alt="tongue.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/tongue.gif"><br><br>
Due my low knowledge, when possible, I prefer to leave the settings on auto. <img alt="redface.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/redface.gif"><br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141970/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="3141970" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141970/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 341px"></a><br><br><br>
One of the most important thing (for my experience on this platform) to boot in my case are also the BGS and GDM settings. <img alt="rolleyes.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif"><br><br>
The settings proposed in that fields are really a no go for me.<br><br><a class="H-lightbox-open" href="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141967/"><img alt="" class="lightbox-enabled" data-id="3141967" data-type="61" src="http://www.overclock.net/content/type/61/id/3141967/width/500/height/1000/flags/LL" style="; width: 500px; height: 599px"></a><br><br>
Good work 1usmus <img alt="thumb.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/thumb.gif"></div>
</div>
<br><br>
thanks ,some understated timings are responsible for recharging banks and read / write commands in one / different banks, you cut them, the speed of this action will not increase unfortunately, but the system will lose stability.You tested the system with a test of HСI 16 X 750 mb ?
 

·
Overclock.net user
Joined
·
447 Posts
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram/10#post_26417946" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>1usmus</strong> <a href="/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram/10#post_26417946"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
thanks ,some understated timings are responsible for recharging banks and read / write commands in one / different banks, you cut them, the speed of this action will not increase unfortunately, but the system will lose stability.You tested the system with a test of HСI 16 X 750 mb ?</div>
</div>
<br>
THANK YOU! <img alt="smile.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/smile.gif"> Yes, tested and not stable,<img alt="tongue.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/tongue.gif"> give me errors at 300% or more. So I've to move to tWRWR SD and DD to 7 and tRDRD SD and DD to 5 to try to be stable... this night? <img alt="rolleyes.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif"> TechpowerupMemTest 64 is the same? <img alt="tongue.gif" class="bbcode_smiley" src="http://files.overclock.net/images/smilies/tongue.gif">
 

·
AMD overclocker/developer
Joined
·
1,624 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
tWRWR SD and DD to 7 and tRDRD SD and DD to 5 + 14 14 14 14 28 42 primary timings<br><br>
I dislike TechpowerupMemTest 64 , he seldom finds errors. HCI 16 window 750mb - best test
 
1 - 20 of 9799 Posts
Top