Overclock.net banner

10481 - 10500 of 10654 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
HI, There I'am new to AMD and trying to get the best out of my system in terms of performance I have a question I'm using a Crucial Ballistix 3600 CL16 if I let it on auto It can do 1900/3800 16-18-18-18-38 (with just basic DOCP) I wanted to mess with tightening other stuff in the BIOS so I downloaded Typhoon and DRamCalc I export the report from Typhoon load it in DRamCalc fill out everything and no matter what frequency I set as long as I set Micron-B die which it is all I get is not supported if I set it to Samsung-B die it works otherwise it won't is there a solution for this or should/can I use a different die type???
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
76 Posts
@Claymore1984 the calculator's preset for Micron rev.B is for Micron's now very old 8Gbit rev.B memory chips. If your DIMMs are 16GB capacity each, they will either have 16x chips of Micron rev.E (8Gbit each) in a dual-sided configuration or 8x chips of the newer Micron rev.B (16Gbit each) in a single-sided configuration. In the calculator, you want to use the Micron rev.E preset and set the Ranks to 2. The 2 types of memory ICs have similar OC potential with subtle differences, e.g. if yours are the new rev.B you might be able to tighten tWR, tWRRD and tRFC a little further than what the calculator shows for rev.E
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
@Claymore1984 the calculator's preset for Micron rev.B is for Micron's now very old 8Gbit rev.B memory chips. Your kit has either 16x chips of Micron rev.E (8Gbit each) in a dual-sided configuration or 8x chips of the newer Micron rev.B (16Gbit each) in a single-sided configuration. In the calculator, you want to use the Micron rev.E preset and set the Ranks to 2. The 2 types of chips are close to OC potential with subtle differences, e.g. if yours are the new rev.B you might be able to tighten tWR, tWRRD and tRFC a little further.
Thx for the reply the reason I'm a bit confused is when I red about this memory prior buying it ppl sad its lottery if I get dual or single rank they exist in both versions as I use it in a 32kit(2x16) I researched that in this case it shouldn't really matter, but typhoon sad it a rank 1 that should be single rank in that case could it be the older B die? Also do I have any real life benefit tinkering with it? or just let DOCP auto set things the main timings are 16 18 18 18 36 the rest is on auto (asus crosshair VIII Hero + 5900x)? tbh I like tinkering but most settings are an unknown to me and just setting them on whim and guesswork is pointless
2474435
2474436
2474437
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
62 Posts
I can push 3800 Mhz with my ram without whea errors but there are crackling sounds in the audio. I tried lowering soc voltage from 1.1 to 1.05 and 1.09 but didn't help and started getting errors in the prime98 smallest. Should I increase soc to 1.12?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,726 Posts
I can push 3800 Mhz with my ram without whea errors but there are crackling sounds in the audio. I tried lowering soc voltage from 1.1 to 1.05 and 1.09 but didn't help and started getting errors in the prime98 smallest. Should I increase soc to 1.12?
I had to use DDU to uninstall my audio drivers, then reinstall them to fix that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Hi. I think this is about as good as it gets on my system. If anyone has some sugestions in regards to timings in case I'm breaking some rules pls let me know.
Also no matter what I try I can't set AddrCmdSetup 0, unless it's a reading error, and ram voltage spiking is bothering me to no end :))

2474694
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
59 Posts
no matter what i do i cant lower TRCDRD more than 21 also cant seem to lower tRC more than 60, vdram is 1.42 in bios right now and showing 1.45v with hwmonitor64 ( calculated trfc based on trc with tRFC calculator mini by Veii ) is it mismatched timings ?
They seem stable with TM5 1usmusv3 profile and also OCCT ram test also checked the IF and that one seems stable aswell ( not fully sure as there isnt a dedicated stress test for that i just do P95 Blend and OCCT Power stress )
also my mem copy score(aida64) seems a bit low compared to others with same timings and freq as mine.
Another weird issue is that if i set a static OC of 4.4ghz on the CPU my aida64 score increases a bit ( 54700.. / 30399 / 50100 / 64.4 ) why is that ? Have it with pbo and EDC bug right now
Could someone chime in and tell my if my timings are good overall ?( i have the feeling iv set some of them wrong and its causing delays or the IC is autocorrecting them for me )
ICs are Hynix CJR acording to typhoon burner and as far as i could tell from examining them they are Rev. A2 originally corsair 3600 CL16/22/22/43
LE: if i lower tRCDRD to 20 i get alot of error 6 in TM5
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
I bought 2 kits of 2x8gb Patriot Viper Steel 4400mhz cl19 for my Asus Strix B450-E gaming mobo. After recent bios update I am able to run 1 kit at 4000mhz fclk 2000 cl16, 15,15,15,30,45 trfc 306 at 1.45V rock stable, but running 2 of this kits I am only able to run it on 3400mhz fclk 1700 cl14,14,14,28,44, trfc 256 at 1.4V. Its Samsung B-die, single rank. I am wondering if anyone can get higher frequencies with 4x ram sticks and what hold me down from maintain higher clocks. A) its B450 chip(probably Daisy chain config) or B) its not true 4x8gb kit. CPU used is Ryzen 9 5900x stock(no OC or PBO).
2475399
2475400
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
64 Posts
I bought 2 kits of 2x8gb Patriot Viper Steel 4400mhz cl19 for my Asus Strix B450-E gaming mobo. After recent bios update I am able to run 1 kit at 4000mhz fclk 2000 cl16, 15,15,15,30,45 trfc 306 at 1.45V rock stable, but running 2 of this kits I am only able to run it on 3400mhz fclk 1700 cl14,14,14,28,44, trfc 256 at 1.4V. Its Samsung B-die, single rank. I am wondering if anyone can get higher frequencies with 4x ram sticks and what hold me down from maintain higher clocks. A) its B450 chip(probably Daisy chain config) or B) its not true 4x8gb kit. CPU used is Ryzen 9 5900x stock(no OC or PBO). View attachment 2475399 View attachment 2475400
for 4000/2000 for sticks viper 4400 I must put procodt 32 , for 3800 work with 36, try 32 and up trwr to 10 and twrrd 4 1.5v+


ram stable but, whea error, not so stable, have les latency with 2t gdm off
2475424



2475426
2475427
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
for 4000/2000 for sticks viper 4400 I must put procodt 32 , for 3800 work with 36, try 32 and up trwr to 10 and twrrd 4 1.5v+


ram stable but, whea error, not so stable, have les latency with 2t gdm off
View attachment 2475424


View attachment 2475426 View attachment 2475427
Impresive results with 4 sticks! I will try 4 sticks again, but I am afraid no matter what, my highest stable speed with 4 sticks and 0 errors is 3400mhz. I can boot up with 3466mhz, but with manny errors while testing. Whats your ram voltage for 4 sticks at 4000mhz? I think issue is with my B450 motherboard and its ram controller.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
64 Posts
Impresive results with 4 sticks! I will try 4 sticks again, but I am afraid no matter what, my highest stable speed with 4 sticks and 0 errors is 3400mhz. I can boot up with 3466mhz, but with manny errors while testing. Whats your ram voltage for 4 sticks at 4000mhz? I think issue is with my B450 motherboard and its ram controller.
4x8 4000 cl 16 1.52v, cl15 1.55v but whea errors, runing 3800/1900 cl14 very tigh trfc 221 1.58v
old bios pbo auto
2475457


bios 4201 pbo + curve optimizer
2475458


last bios 4202 add latency
2475459


runing bios 4201 for now
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
83 Posts
2475705


With my original timings on Micron E-die and advice from an earlier post in this thread I went to work trying to tighten things more. I was only just made aware putting geardownmode on can lead to tighter timings even if there is a small latency penalty. Idea seems to be if you can tighten up enough it'll mitigate the penalty.

Currently sitting here now

2475706


No matter what I do I can't get tRCDRD stable at 19. Boots windows fine, but Memtest errors. The above has been stable for an hour of Memtest.

If it works fine after stability tests does everyone think that's about as tight as it'll go? Keep in mind this was rated 18-22-22-42 3600 :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
76 Posts
@Audioboxer I suspect Micron is mostly keeping the good bins for their Crucial kits and giving slightly lower bins to customers like Corsair. At 3800MT/s GDM off 1.38V, my Ballistix Rev.E kit can do tRCDRD 20 or tRCDRD 19 if I enable GDM. ZenTimings screenshot from my current settings, which passed a 25cycle TM5 test last night:

2475709


SoC is 1.025V SET, here it shows a little droop because Prime95 Large FFTs is running.

I am currently in the process of finding minimum stable voltages and termination values before trying to tighten the timings, I have found this is a good approach to RAM OC. Or at least it has worked for me in the past with the same kit and a 2700X.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: Audioboxer

·
Registered
Joined
·
83 Posts
@Audioboxer I suspect Micron is mostly keeping the good bins for their Crucial kits and giving slightly lower bins to customers like Corsair. At 3800MT/s GDM off 1.38V, my Ballistix Rev.E kit can do tRCDRD 20 or tRCDRD 19 if I enable GDM. ZenTimings screenshot from my current settings, which passed a 25cycle TM5 test last night:

View attachment 2475709

I am currently in the process of finding minimum stable voltages and termination values before trying to tighten the timings.
Thanks, let me know how you get on! Seems there is a degree of black magic involved in memory OCing. I thought getting my CPU setup how I wanted it took hours, but the real end game seems to be DDR4 timings/stability 🤣

I didn't have a massive budget for a new rig 4-5 months ago so when it came to ram just about anything decent on offer was a massive improvement for me. Even if this was running around default I'd be happy enough so any sorts of improvements are welcome.

I'm at 1.45v just now which seems to be a bit pointless for E-die if my understanding is it doesn't scale that great with voltage. I too will see if 1.42-1.44v is stable once I'm happy timings can't be tweaked anymore.

Edit - Booo, AIDA64 stability test error. So we're not stable. Back to loosening and Memtest for longer than an hour lol.
 

·
Overclock the World
Joined
·
2,265 Posts
@Audioboxer don't just run ClkDrvStr 60 with GDM enabled
that's for 2T GDM disabled, or 1T
Try to run RTT 7/1/2 or 7/0/2
CAD_BUS 40-20-20-20
CAD_BUS timing 3-3-15
tCKE 9
@ procODT 36.9
^ 2T

Fix your tRC to be tRAS+tRP "for now"
to figure out tRFC

Low tRRD_ & tWTR_ are not always beneficial
tFAW has to stay 4* tRRD_S ,
tWTR_L optimally is 2* tRRD_L

TM5 to test for errors , not Aida64
Voltage Patterns for Matisse
Deciphering TM5 Errors

Rev.E scales positive only after 1.56v , it doesn't behave well between 1.47-1.54v
RTT values will need to change if you exceed beyond 1.48v-1.5v

Presets example of cm87
2475711
 
10481 - 10500 of 10654 Posts
Top