Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
This is my first time posting on the forum. I've been reading posts on the site for about a month and finally decided to sign up. I'm planning on building a new PC in the April/May time frame once Ivy Bridge is released and need help from you all.

Edit: Its been a couple months since I originally wrote this post, but I've gone back and made updates to what I'm planning on buying.

Overview:
- I want to build a new Ivy Bridge System ~1000-$1500 range. Parts: PSU, Mobo, CPU, Cooling, Ram, Storage.
- I currently own a 24" Dell 2408WFP monitor, Radeon HD 6850 (purchased a few months ago), and an Antec P182 case. The rest of my PC is really old (Athlon X2 4200 2.2 GHz + Asus Mobo).
- I really want to learn a lot about overclocking and plan to spend a significant amount of time perfecting a highly overclocked 24/7 stable system. I'd like to achieve a 5+ GHz. Any guides or suggested reading to prepare me for overclocking between now and April/May would be much appreciated.
- I'm an avid PC gamer and would like to run games like Skyrim, FPS, and future games on maxed ultimate settings.
- I'd like to start Folding @ home.

Here are the parts I'm thinking about:

MoBo: ASUS P8Z77-V Deluxe 1155 Intel Z77 - $275 on Newegg

- I've been looking at all the new Z77 Mobo features and reviews and I'm pretty set on this one due to the fact it has on board Wifi and Bluetooth. I like the idea of controlling media (TV/Music) with my I-phone
smile.gif
. Yes its pricier than some of the others but initial reviews seem pretty good.
- supports Sata 6Gb/s Raid 0, and USB 3.0, SLI, + all the Z77 features.

CPU: i7-3770K
- Estimated cost for i7-3570K = $225 and i7-3770K = $332 (wiki).

Cooling: Corsair H100, $100 - Purchased. And 4x Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120mm fans, 1850 RPM for Push/Pull. ~$80 - Purchased
- Does this work with my Antec P182 case?