Overclock.net banner

21 - 40 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,652 Posts
Discussion Starter #21
Ok last post on this for the day...I got three customer pc's to work on and my new toy is taking up my time..lol ran occt for 30 fine test more later...I'm beginning to think that extra 13 buxx was worth it<img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/biggrin.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Big Grin"><br>
~~edit~~ now what machine has that good corsair that i got from fla king...hmmm
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,652 Posts
Discussion Starter #22
Uhhmmm.. well I keep waiting for the no boot or the blue screen and none yet.<br />
And honest this is the last cpuz for the day...gonna drop the corsair in it tomorrow and run some tests...wish me luck!!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,880 Posts
Nice man, I'm thinkin of building a opty 165 rig as well... though I'm being pressured by the dark side to go conroe: <a href="http://www.overclock.net/amd-general/125706-850-budget-have-er.html" target="_blank">http://www.overclock.net/amd-general...t-have-er.html</a><br />
<br />
hope i get as good of an OC as you if i choose to stick with the opty 165
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,652 Posts
Discussion Starter #24
Don't do that!!!!! We are winning some over..<br />
<br />
<a href="http://www.overclock.net/amd-general/125321-i-have-gone-amd-opteron-165-a.html" target="_blank">http://www.overclock.net/amd-general...ron-165-a.html</a>
 

·
 
Joined
·
29,532 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>dotcomthese</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">when did AMD switch to the copper heat pipe sink and fan???</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
They haven't directly. All Opertons and FX'es has the heatpipe sink.<br><br>
*EDIT*<br><br>
3800 posts! Yay.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,982 Posts
Nice overclokcs...<br>
how is the 3700 sandy doing <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Smile">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,652 Posts
Discussion Starter #27
I don't have enogh ram for all my rigs....<img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/frown.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Frown"> so the sandy is looking shiny!!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,652 Posts
Discussion Starter #29
ok . I have a question. My bios says 35C, my case has a temp sensor added that I always put in the center of my heat sink(outside of course) says 37C and my asus utility says 39C what's the closest actual???
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,485 Posts
LMAO- funny how so many of us 3700+ owners got the same idea for the opty 165 at the same time ( might explain why it's OOS at the egg.... are ya listening, newegg?).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,652 Posts
Discussion Starter #31
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>rottenotto</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">LMAO- funny how so many of us 3700+ owners got the same idea for the opty 165 at the same time ( might explain why it's OOS at the egg.... are ya listening, newegg?).</div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>The guy I got mine from has hand picked steppings and mine costed 173.00 on e-bay. And yeh I got two sandy's uhmmm kinda looking pretty ay the moment...lol<br />
~~edit~~ any answers on the temp question??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,485 Posts
I think i'd be prone to trust the BIOS reading the most.. but... can't base this on anything solid.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,652 Posts
Discussion Starter #33
yeh I mean all of them are low temps and idle but before I finish with the other ram and start loading I wanna make sure of my readings....Because I prolly gonna have to up the vcore to be solid stable at that oc.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,652 Posts
Discussion Starter #34
Sorry to bump the thread but Iwas able to run OCCT for 30 minutes but had to put my vcore up to 1.4 to do it...My temps hit 47 but given the 4 degree difference from my bios then that would be like 43...But I can't run sp2004 get errors after about 1 minute...suggestions???
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
45,674 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>dotcomthese</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">ok . I have a question. My bios says 35C, my case has a temp sensor added that I always put in the center of my heat sink(outside of course) says 37C and my asus utility says 39C what's the closest actual???</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>dotcomthese</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">Sorry to bump the thread but Iwas able to run OCCT for 30 minutes but had to put my vcore up to 1.4 to do it...My temps hit 47 but given the 4 degree difference from my bios then that would be like 43...But I can't run sp2004 get errors after about 1 minute...suggestions???</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
Answers both <img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/wink.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Wink"><br>
If the BIOS is reporting accurately it's configed to equate to 80% of the full load temp.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,599 Posts
Do run at that clock speed and have stability in SP2004 you will need to increase your VCore even further. As you know this will mean higher temperatures, and if under 50*c is your goal you will have issue. So you will have the choice to either lower your clock speed down and accept a lower overclock at safe temperatures or you can look at getting a different HSF or watercooling to help you achieve that clock speed with temperatures considered.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,652 Posts
Discussion Starter #37
Yeh well I kinda been planning on that..sorry my specs have the asus x mars but I just got the stock amd copper fan in here....But I'm pretty sure on getting either a BT or freezer64...before any more pushing.I dropped it down to 2.799 and ran sp2004 (times two one each core) and ran for 30 minutes with a lower vcore of 1.35 so gonna hold off til the egg sends me yet more parts....when do your stock options kick in for purchasing from the egg??/
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,652 Posts
Discussion Starter #38
Well it definitely seems temp related...I live in florida and my rig is in my un-airconditioned garage atm and yesterday it was around 88degrees...today a cold front pushed through and the temp is around 70ish's and it ran sp2004 fine for 2 hours...but that is lowered to 2.805...and only 1.35vcore...so the cooling upgrade is gonna be a plus for sure..then we'll see what's up...ttfn.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
459 Posts
I just got mine from newegg, and I got CCBBE 0616 <img src="/images/smilies/thumb.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Thumb" class="inlineimg" />
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,652 Posts
Discussion Starter #40
<div style="margin:20px; margin-top:5px; ">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px">Quote:</div>
<table cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="99%">
<tr>
<td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset">

<div>
Originally Posted by <strong>JeremyS</strong>

</div>
<div style="font-style:italic">I just got mine from newegg, and I got CCBBE 0616 <img src="/images/smilies/thumb.gif" border="0" alt="" title="Thumb" class="inlineimg" /></div>

</td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>Good deal!!!<br />
Well here some pics of my test with occt today with temps and cpuz i bumped the vcore to 1.375 and it's cooler now so my temps only hit 44c but that is prolly +3-4 degrees from my bios as discussed. What should I run to test further to call that oc of 2.8 solid?? but running two versions of sp2004 and my tempps jump to 51c minus the 3-4c.
 
21 - 40 of 59 Posts
Top