Overclock.net banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Banned
2,407 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I sit here, bored and waiting for my mprime test to enter its 8th hour, I wanted to float an idea past you folks.

We should really set up a chart of CFM vs dBA of quality fans. I'm new to this sub-forum so don't think I'm just here to make more work for the regulars.

The two numbers are pretty much on opposite ends. The more air a fan moves, generally the louder it gets. It's very easy to go to a site like FrozenCPU or NewEgg and find fans that either have low noise or high CFMs. I feel like people like me who want the best of both worlds are neglected.

As I'm looking at fans, I'm thinking I don't need them silent but then again, I don't want a loud 50dBA+ fan either. There has to be the best of both worlds fan.

What I would like to do is start compiling a list where average users can go and look for their perfect fans. Maybe give them an option of sacrificing a few less CFMs for a few more dBAs or vice-versa. Maybe set them up as lowest ratios so people can get a real comparison.

It's just an idea I had. I'm wondering what you guys thought.

·
Premium Member
1,561 Posts
It's difficult to measure the true sound rating, because there are so many variables such as distance from the fan, fan isolation level, measurement equipment, etc.

Any kind of a database or list (especially a user-contributed one) would be even more prone to these kinds of issues. And if you're not going to do it entirely scientifically and uniformly, then you're reliant on subjective opinions of 'loud' or 'quiet.'

The best bet is to find one particular site with comprehensive reviews of various fans, and compare results from within that limited set. Anything else turns into an apples to oranges comparison.

SPCR has some great information when it comes to fans and fan noise levels / performance:

Quote:

·
Registered
3,526 Posts
Nah man, get a Delta. MAN UP NANCY!

·
Registered
540 Posts
Quote: