Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, new user here.
I just got a new PC, important parts are -
Gigabyte 890FXA-UD5 (bios updated to F4)
Phenom II 965BE
Kingston HyperX DD3 4 GB (http://www.valueram.com/datasheets/K...D3T1K2_4GX.pdf)
Noctua NH-U9B HSF (2x92mm fans)
2x ATi 5770
Thermaltake Evo 650w PSU

Now, so far I have the CPU sitting on [email protected], and ram at 1406MHz.
It doesn't seem to exceed 55 degrees C under load. How much futher could I push it? This is the first newish CPU I have OC'd, so I am still learning all the settings.
CPU-Z screenshot -

·
Premium Member
9,719 Posts
Unless you're under water or other cooling solutions and also for the fact that not all 965's hit 4Ghz very easily, I'd say you're good right where you're at.

If you're worried about temperatures, read this to settle any questions.

You can keep going to 1.55v but I don't know if you'll see any gains or benefit since you're already hitting 55c. Max temps for your chip is 62c; but heat walls happen at 55c (chip depending).

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ok, so I will settle with 4GHz for the time being. Another question, RAM this time.
Can I increase the RAM speed without affecting CPU speed? I mean, it's rated to run at 2000MHZ, and here it is sitting at a lowly 1406, and I know my mobo supports up to 1866.

·
Premium Member
9,719 Posts
You should try to set it to it's rated speed, but 2000 may not be viable. I would suggest you set it to 1866 or 1600 with tightened timings.

This could affect the stability of your OC though, be aware of that.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
But how do I go about doing so? I tried with the DRAM ratio thing, changing it from 6.66 to 8 (with CPU at stock) and windows refused to boot. (I did increase the voltage as well, but that didnt help

·
Premium Member
9,719 Posts