Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hope this is the right section for this…

So I assembled my Sig system and running Win7. I connected the case front AC97 (HD wasn't long enough) plug to the motherboard.

I move the system over to where it will actually be used, connect speakers, power up hear the windows sound. Played some online videos and sound worked fine.

Next day I figure I give the case front audio connection a go, I've always used rear because of my old soundcard (Audigy 2 ZS) and I never ever used integrated sound before. I Attach headphones an fire up the system, I hear what I believe to be electronic noise. I momentarily power up speakers and hear the same thing. I figured a little odd (really don't know as I've never used integrated audio), but windows booted (honestly now can't remember if windows sound played or not). With my mind focused wanting to install some programs and get a quick temp reading as my case is under my desk I gave no further thought to sound, though I had thought I heard that thud sound when you make an improper click.

At some point (maybe next day) I noticed the "x" next to the taskbar speaker icon. Sure enough I had no sound. Hovering the mouse over the icon it says "no speakers or headphones plugged in"

Right clicking on the sound icon I select playback devices, the 4 items listed all have (HDMI) next to them; there is nothing under the recording tab

I had only installed a few programs.., MSoffice, Photoimpact, Adobe Reader and let windows do anu additional updates.

I researched the problem and have followed various advice from threads, I've also reinstalled Win7 several times already to no avail.

I also went into the bios to confirm that the Audio was enable and saw that the sound was set to HD. I later came across a snippet of a post online mentioning that I may have fried something having HD set while using the AC97 plug, any thoughts on that?

I had wanted to give integrated audio a go and while making use of the case front ports, but if I have to install my soundcard then I'll go that route. I've really no desire to rma the board if its bad. Already confirmed on one of the OS installs that the Audigy works

So am I screwed? Any chance I didn't fry integrated audio? Anyone else had/have the same "no speakers or headphones plugged in" issue and how was it resolved?

I'm hoping this is a driver issue, maybe i missed something
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
I don't see in your post what (if any) sound driver you installed, are your relying soley on the Win7 drivers?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
610 Posts
My guess is that the audio is going out through your 570s HDMI port. Though I am not sure were to check/change that atm. (still at work). For now I would check and see if there are any unknown devices in your device manager.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
First let me says thanks for help

Quote:


Originally Posted by ()ut[@st
View Post

I don't see in your post what (if any) sound driver you installed, are your relying soley on the Win7 drivers?


sry i didn't specifically state it as i did try many things found from threads when i searched online, but you are correct that i should have posted what drivers used. On initial install i used the latest Realtek 2.58 drivers which did give me sound. After i got the problem i uninstalled then restalling drivers, even restalled OS.

Quote:


Originally Posted by Invisible
View Post

Sometimes you dont need drivers for audio, but other times you do. Stay aware of that.

Yep, Win7 does install drivers but still no sound

Quote:


Originally Posted by DarkPhoenix
View Post

My guess is that the audio is going out through your 570s HDMI port. Though I am not sure were to check/change that atm. (still at work). For now I would check and see if there are any unknown devices in your device manager.

I installed the 570 with and without the HD audio part installed, still no audio and playback devices still show (HDMI), and i don't own HDMI headphones or speakers to test if the audio section is functional

Quote:


Originally Posted by zorg1983
View Post

Install the proper driver from the vendor web site, don't trust Win 7 drivers .

Yes, done this many times and in different orders, still can't get audio back.

Would like to mention that on one of the earlier times i uninstalled the drivers there was an additional check box in the pop-up window (which I checked off), don't recall now what it was but think it was to remove/delete something extra. Haven't come across it again even though i've restalled OS/drivers etc

Currently I have a fresh Win7 x64 install (OS Sp1>Chipset>Lan>Win Updates>Drivers>Video(no HD)>Sound (Realtek 2.58), still no audio

On one of my previous installs i tried to install the AC97 drivers but it wouldn't complete install.

any other thoughts plz, and could i have fried that audio section from having the headphones plugged in well using the AC97 connector but HD setting in bios?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
569 Posts
If the driver is installed try to play with the configuration of the audio driver in the task bar.. win 7 have a habit to shut down the sound components.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Quote:
Originally Posted by zorg1983;13039793
If the driver is installed try to play with the configuration of the audio driver in the task bar.. win 7 have a habit to shut down the sound components.
Theres nothing to really play with, no speaker layout, no inputs used etc.. its acting like the driver hasn't even installed.

the properties continue to show its all microsoft drivers (Controllers and HD Audio), if the Realtek drivers had installed correctly wouldn't it show Realtek somewhere?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
569 Posts
Yes , you didnt install the driver properly. remove all trace of the current driver even from the registry and reboot. after it try to install again.....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Quote:


Originally Posted by zorg1983
View Post

Yes , you didnt install the driver properly. remove all trace of the current driver even from the registry and reboot. after it try to install again.....

This is another clean install, using the same download driver that initial give me sound.

so what software can i use to clean the registry? or specifically target driver in the registry? CCclearner fine?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
240 Posts
When I built my sig rig and installed windows, it automatically installed the drivers for the new devices and when it restarted I also had no sound, only the HDMI device in playback devices. I was getting an unknown device in device manager, ACS-6xxx.
I first uninstalled the unknown device then installed the drivers for the nec USB 3.0 controller and after reboot my sound was back.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pabs;13040462
When I built my sig rig and installed windows, it automatically installed the drivers for the new devices and when it restarted I also had no sound, only the HDMI device in playback devices. I was getting an unknown device in device manager, ACS-6xxx.
I first uninstalled the unknown device then installed the drivers for the nec USB 3.0 controller and after reboot my sound was back.
I have seen this issue posted before by someone but i don't have any unknowns devices, also i never got (or saw) the ACS-6xxx listed

Quote:
Originally Posted by zorg1983;13040480
hmmm it will be better for you to remove it manually , Also try this link:

http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f19/solved-front-audio-ports-not-working-realtek-alc889a-485463.html
I just uninstalled it using Revo Uninstaller (program has served me well in the past) but will take a poke around in the registry before reinstall Realtek drivers again, worst thing to happen i windup reinstalling OS yet again, lol

I checkout the link but that issue is different as i also don't have sound from back of case. I take it that the Realtek Audio Manager i've seen many folks mention must be part of the actual driver as its nowhere to be found, and since the driver isn't installing properly i can't use it.

When i go to reinstall the driver again should i uninstall the windows ones first (including controllers) or simply install over them?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,306 Posts
Since you're using windows, go into the Device Manager and find audio driver listings and uninstall them.

Restart Windows and it should find proper drivers itself.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdmiralThrawn;13040743
Since you're using windows, go into the Device Manager and find audio driver listings and uninstall them.

Restart Windows and it should find proper drivers itself.
Everytime i uninstall the Win7 drivers using the above method (or any method for that matter) it does reload drivers but there the same ones i just uninstalled, so i'm a little confused by what you mean.

where you saying to uninstall them first (including controllers) followed by reinstalling Realtek drivers then reboot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zorg1983;13040790
Yeah do that...
were you referring to what i post in previous post or AdmiralThrawn post?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
569 Posts
AdmiralThrawn,Just reinstall them and reboot.

Download the driver of the sound card for windows vista and see how it goes...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,306 Posts
Quote:


Originally Posted by Lorderl
View Post

Everytime i uninstall the Win7 drivers using the above method (or any method for that matter) it does reload drivers but there the same ones i just uninstalled, so i'm a little confused by what you mean.

where you saying to uninstall them first (including controllers) followed by reinstalling Realtek drivers then reboot?

Essentially. It's what I did after my last crash. 4 separate audio driver downloads did nothing. I just sat back and let Windows do the work, first ones it found were the ones.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #19
Quote:


Originally Posted by zorg1983
View Post

AdmiralThrawn,Just reinstall them and reboot.

Download the driver of the sound card for windows vista and see how it goes...

as far as i know the Realtek driver is for both Vista and Win7. IIRC i've even install that under Vista compataility mode but it didn't work

Quote:


Originally Posted by AdmiralThrawn
View Post

Essentially. It's what I did after my last crash. 4 separate audio driver downloads did nothing. I just sat back and let Windows do the work, first ones it found were the ones.

Yeah when i first put it all together i simply installed the Realtek drivers, rebooted and i was gtg.

so any thoughts on what i mentioned about using the AC97 connector while the bios was set to HD Audio, would plugging in the headphones in the case front port have messed anything up?
 
1 - 20 of 30 Posts
Top