Overclock.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first build in 8-9 years.

Installed everything in the case (was too stupid and eager to breadboard everything).

Plug PSU in, plug HDMI to HDMI tv (not monitor - it's all I have here). Pressed the power button and all fans and leds turn on.

Mobo speaker posts a short successful beep. But still no video.

I've taken the graphics card out and tried to use the onboard video... same issue.
Took both sticks of ram out, get a long beep followed by 2 short ones.
Put 1 stick of ram in, get a successful beep.

Not sure what to try next.

Asus Z77-Pro
i5 3570K
Sapphire 7970 OC
2 x 4gb Vengeance
620W seasonic
128gb Crucial SSD
H100 cooler

Please help, I want to get to playing with this thing.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Homeless2 View Post

Do you have the power molex plugged into the motherboard?
Yes I do. Although my PSU came with 1 8pin and 2 4pins coupled together. I used the 2 4pins since it was a tight fit in the Corsair 500r. That shouldn't be a problem though, right?

·
Banned
711 Posts
I'm wondering if the card can't output the BIOS to the TV.. my brother told my to use DVI on mine because sometimes in Linux installs or in the BIOS you will have no video with HDMI.

Is there a DVI port on the TV you can use?

Can you borrow a monitor from somebody to test this theory?

Chances are the TV is being picky about its signal.

·
Registered
1,349 Posts
What PSU do you have? You probably used the graphics cards connector on your motherboard, you should have a dedicated 8pin just for the motherboard.

·
Banned
711 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shozzking View Post

What PSU do you have? You probably used the graphics cards connector on your motherboard, you should have a dedicated 8pin just for the motherboard.
Or two four pin ones.. both my power supplies are two four pin connectors coming from one sleeve.

·
Registered
34 Posts