Overclock.net banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a completely noob to this overclocking buisness, but that doesnt mean I can not listen or follow instructions.
biggrin.gif
I just wanna do some overclocking on my system and need help/guide to do this step by step.

All information is in the rig thing down below, but here it is again:
-Athlon II X4 645 (Propus) 3.1Ghz
-msi k9n6pgm2-v2
-Silver Stone ST50-ES (power supply)
-no realydetail on memory but it is a Kingston 4GB DDR2 its PC2-6400/800mhz

dont know if my gpu needs to be put out but just incase ASUS 7770-2DG5

I know i can overclock because i changed the FSB from 200 to 201 and the speed went from 3.1Ghz to 3.12 and of course the dram speed went up and it went to 804 i believe.

So i just need some help on what to do now.

Theres also other stuff in the BIOS like cpu fan speed and temp, right now at idle its on 43C fromw hat i saw in bios, um, not sure what else i need to say, but
HELP AND Appercciate your time.

I also need to know if i need to download any software if i need to do any CPU testing or not. or anything else really, jus tlet me know. So now i wait:)

P.S. I KNOW THE MONITOR IS OLD from like 2003. But ain't broke dont fix it.

EDIT: Thanks for the help guys, I got it to 3.5Ghz, it went BSoD at 3.6 but now 2 hours in "burning it in" got a while to go. So far so good.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Well since i got no reply yet, I increased the FSB from 200 to 210. So far it is stable, Ram went from 800 to 840, though when I tried to load after i changed the settings nothing happened. So i turned computer off and back on then it booted normally? Could this be a sign? I restarted it to see it will work, worked fine. The timing ratio things, are at 6/6/6/12, but i am not sure if this is due to the 2T, the 2 cycle delay.

·
Registered
4,613 Posts