Overclock.net banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, new member here.
First of all I would like to apologize for eventual grammar mistakes as I'm not native english speaker and am still learning the language.

I've been playing fps games for over 17 years, but only recently started being interested in mices, dpi, sensors etc.
In this topic I would like to understand better mouse accel and specifically WHY the lack of it doesn't seem to fit my playing style.
In short, until recently I wasn't even aware that mouse acceleration "was a thing". I was simply plugging in some generic mouse, adjust the in game sens and be ready to go.
I've never switched to CS:GO from CS 1.6 because that game doesn't seem enough "dynamic" for me. Started with Quake, moved on to Half-Life 1.0 and went through the CS series up until 1.6.
Anyway, here is the problem I got with the lack of mouse accelarion...
Basically...it doesn't seem able to keep up with with the speed of my movements, or maybe, I don't know how to set up my mouse so that it responds how I would like it to be.
I'm a high sens player and like fast, abrupt shots left and right. With mouse acceleration enabled I was able, through small and fast movements to make my mouse turn around the way I wanted it to turn. Also, I had a better visual of the level and somehow a bigger spatial awareness. Right now, while turning left or right, in a way I feel lost. If I jump into a passage, to check the right side for an enemy, I'm 100% sure if there's someone on the left I'm dead. Without mouse accel it's physically fatiguing to turn the mouse left-right at 90°.
Ok, at this point I suppose you're thinking 2 things:

1) Why don't you increase your mouse sensitivity?
2) If you like mouse accel why don't you just go on with it, but ask for confirmation?