Overclock.net banner

21 - 31 of 31 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
45,674 Posts
Keep trying different votages for the CPU, chipset, and me controler. Voltage changes effect the harmonics in electricity and they persay hav a sweet spot.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,036 Posts
Discussion Starter #22
Well i very much doubt the PSU is an issue for christ sake! And as for the HTT i've had it running as high as 1230Mhz as seen here....<br />
<br />
<a href="http://uk.geocities.com/m_hill2029/HTOverload.jpg" target="_blank">http://uk.geocities.com/m_hill2029/HTOverload.jpg</a>
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
45,674 Posts
Exceeding the 1000 ish speed does nothing for productiviy, it can only add to the the posibility of instability!
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
2,069 Posts
Also remember that the .5 CPU multipliers does in fact effect the RAM speed... the half-multipliers run the memory at a lower frequencey for some reason... I don't remember exactly why, but CPUZ it will verify it.<br><br>
That being said, I've got an Asus A8N-SLI Premium, an X2 3800+ and Corsair XMS Platinum and can't get stable at 2.8Ghz. Maybe our RAM doesn't like AMD's (I had trouble with my 3000+ Winchester as well). I'm running a TEC, so temperatures have nothing to do with it (at least in my case).<br><br>
What voltage are you giving your RAM? I found that mine are the most stable at 1.75v. 1.7 and 1.8 are less stable.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,036 Posts
Discussion Starter #26
Not really messed with voltages to be honest, Corsair Value probably wouldn't like extra voltage imo.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,036 Posts
Discussion Starter #27
And my adventure continues....<br />
<br />
Managed to get 2.8Ghz stable in windows & stress tests doing the following:<br />
<br />
11.5 x 242Mhz (HTx4) <br />
CPU Voltage 1.52 volts <br />
DDR voltage (auto) <----- consair value so i don't trust increasing that lol<br />
Memory Timings 3-3-3-11-14 /2T <------ fails 1T, this is the main reason of system instability so be aware folks.<br />
<br />
After all this i decided to stay at 2.7Ghz due to the fact that the memory is at full performance with 3-3-3-11-14 /1T and 2.8Ghz would be a loss using the 2T timing, plus with the increased voltage & load temps it aint worth it.<br />
<br />
Oh well, so there you have it 2.8Ghz is possible on the AMD64 3800+ venice with Corsair Value DDR400 but at a slight cost. If you have better ram you will get 3.0Ghz i guarantee.<br />
<br />
Oh this will make you laugh ----> <a href="http://uk.geocities.com/m_hill2029/HTOverload.jpg" target="_blank">http://uk.geocities.com/m_hill2029/HTOverload.jpg</a>
 

·
Overclock Failed...
Joined
·
13,565 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>Mhill2029</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">And my adventure continues....<br><br>
11.5 x 242Mhz (HTx4)<br><br>
Memory Timings 3-3-3-11-14 /2T <------ fails 1T,</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
You don'r say what speed the memory is at.<br><br>
242X11.5 without a divider will run the ram at 232mhz which is probaably too fast for 1T, much less any decent timings. A 166 (5:6) divider will get your memory to 198.79mhz and should allow 1T command rate and tighter timings. 3-3-3-11-14 /2T is ugly at best.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,036 Posts
Discussion Starter #29
It's set at 333Mhz (the lowest setting is 200Mhz) in the Bios so i had more overclocking room, 333Mhz is a 2:1 divider isn't it? And the ram is running at 193.5Mhz although considering Dual Channel mode it would be 387Mhz and close to stock speeds.<br><br>
It's totally stable for me at 2.7Ghz, but i wanted 2.8Ghz really or higher without the cost of memory performance. Btw could you show the equation on how memory is worked out by a system in terms of multipliers etc?
 

·
Overclock Failed...
Joined
·
13,565 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>Mhill2029</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">...........333Mhz is a 2:1 divider isn't it?<br>
Btw could you show the equation on how memory is worked out by a system in terms of multipliers etc?</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
No. It's 5:6 (333/400)<br><br>
Most people use FSB x Divider = Memory Speed (in mhz).<br>
So: 250 x 183/200 = 228.75.5mhz. It's usually pretty close.<br><br>
The "real" method is:<br>
(FSB X Multi) / (<b>Multi x 200/Divider</b>) <b>Rounded up to the next whole number</b><br>
10 x 250/(10 x 200/183 <b>rounded up</b>)<br>
Note that 10 x 200/183 = 10.93 which rounds to 11)<br>
10 x 250/ (11) = 227.27mhz.<br><br>
Or you can use:<br>
AMD64 Calculator, <a href="http://www.geocities.com/edgemeal_software/" target="_blank">http://www.geocities.com/edgemeal_software/</a>
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,036 Posts
Discussion Starter #31
Finally done it! Got the baby stable @ 2.8Ghz although the CPU voltage had to be upped to 1.55v
 
21 - 31 of 31 Posts
Top