Overclock.net banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,<br><br>
Im generally new here,got wind of this forum through surfing the nets. Im essentially a noob in OCing. Tried various tools to get the most bang for my buck. Heres my system Specs:<br><br>
CPU:Amd Sempron 3500+ (but it says 64 dual core processor 3600+ on cpuz)<br>
Mobo: KN9 SLI Ultra KN9S<br>
Ram: (2) 1 Gb Kingston ram 667<br>
Vid Card: eVGA 7900GS KO<br>
using coolermaster 450W and fan cooling ( dono if it makes sense to u guys heh)<br><br>
I kinda regretted not getting the AMDx2 3800 after reading the reviews. So here i am trying to OC my current rig. ATM, i read on the FSB /HTT stuff. kinda understand the thing works , but not totally. Ive tried changing the speeds on bios too.<br><br>
my current sys runs at 2gig hertz which is paltry considering how u guys hit 3k hertz . Any idea how i can at least, OC my graphics card and processor?ive downloaded the lastest nVidia drivers from the website and installed rivatuner.<br>
But my system hangs sometimes when i increased my CPU speed to just 210 for FSB. I dont really get the technical terms so... any way help me out if possible heh. Attached are the specs from CPU-Z<br><br>
Btw regarding my graphics card , i heard its possible to OC this baby till its<br>
quite high end. any comments?<br><br><a href="http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o124/feng_08/memory-2009.jpg" target="_blank">http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o...emory-2009.jpg</a><br><a href="http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o124/feng_08/cache-2009.jpg" target="_blank">http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o...cache-2009.jpg</a><br><a href="http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o124/feng_08/cpu-2009.jpg" target="_blank">http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o...8/cpu-2009.jpg</a>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
214 Posts
Try to keep your htt around 1000(htt=fsb*5,4,3,2,1) If you cant get it stable after that adjust your memory timings your ram might not be able to handle that much.<br>
also heres a link For ATI Tool to Oc your Grafix card. EDIT: make sure you download the beta<img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Smile"><br><a href="http://www.techpowerup.com/atitool/" target="_blank">http://www.techpowerup.com/atitool/</a><br><br>
The 1st thing I sugest you do is fill out your system specs so you dont have to post what you got<img alt="" class="inlineimg" src="/images/smilies/smile.gif" style="border:0px solid;" title="Smile">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Oh ok thanks for the program dude. Just a query, i dont really get what u mean by those terms lol. Ive tried increasing the speed in BIOS mode , simply hitting Del and changing it from 200 to 205 and 210 hertz , slowing upping it.<br><br>
Is this the correct method? btw , ive also read on timings by RAM etc, loosening it /tightening it. Any help regarding this? i dont really understand.<br>
From my rig, what kind of OC performance shud i aim to hit? 2.5 gighertz possible?<br><br>
Btw the program i dled. will it clash with rivatuner? Ive let the ATItool find myt max core/ mem and the current readings before it hits 59 Deg cel is 455/349 , is it any good?<br><br>
Thanks in advance~
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,529 Posts
Read this-<br />
<a href="http://www.short-media.com/review.php?r=300" target="_blank">http://www.short-media.com/review.php?r=300</a><br />
<br />
This pretty much walks you through it, here are a few tips-<br />
drop you ram speed down to start with (in the Bios), drop it to 533 then put the HTT multi on x4 and then start increasing the FSB and testing with this-<br />
<a href="http://www.overclock.net/downloads/42349-prime95-v23-8-a.html" target="_blank">http://www.overclock.net/downloads/4...5-v23-8-a.html</a><br />
<br />
When you fail prime inrcrease the Vcore a little, but keep an eye on your temps 50c+ is not good high 40's are fine. Vcore increases heat so when the temps start getting high you've reached the limit.<br />
Keep an eye on your temps when priming.<br />
<br />
BTW that sempron should be good for an easy 2.5ghz.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Alritey thanks lots for the help. So right now ive kinda understood that<br>
1) OC ing the CPU is the easiest?<br>
2) what about memory timings? How does this factor in when OC ing?<br>
3) lastly, im just curious, is my processor a dual core ? or just a 3500+ sempron?<br><br>
thnks again guys appreaciate the help!
 

·
Retired
Joined
·
2,424 Posts
<div style="margin:20px;margin-top:5px;">
<div class="smallfont" style="margin-bottom:2px;">Quote:</div>
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="99%"><tr><td class="alt2" style="border:1px inset;">
<div>Originally Posted by <strong>wzee</strong></div>
<div style="font-style:italic;">Alritey thanks lots for the help. So right now ive kinda understood that<br>
1) OC ing the CPU is the easiest?<br>
2) what about memory timings? How does this factor in when OC ing?<br>
3) lastly, im just curious, is my processor a dual core ? or just a 3500+ sempron?<br><br>
thnks again guys appreaciate the help!</div>
</td>
</tr></table></div>
1) I personally would consider OCing the video card to be the easiest, however, ocing the CPU is not hard at all.<br>
2) Timings dictate how long the ram has to find/pass on requested data after it is requested by the CPU. A lower (tighter, ie. 2-2-2-0, 1T) timing means the RAM has to find the data faster, where as a higher (looser, ie 3-6-6-8, 2T) timing gives the ram more time to find requested data, this is measured in cycles. Its a little more complex then that, but thats an easy way to understand. Tighter timings put more strain on the ram, which makes it more prone to error at higher speeds, ie, lets say you have Corsair XMS, at a timing if 2-3-3-6, 1t, you might only be able to OC it up too 235mhz, where as, with a looser timing, like 3-6-6-8, 2T you might be able to OC it to 250mhz+. Just a note, amd tends to favor tighter timings over higher bandwith.<br>
3) What did you order? There is a chance it is a dual core with one core disabled. However, I would blame an old version of CPU-Z.<br><br>
EDIT: Just saw the pics, you have a very outdated version of CPU-Z. It is currently at 1.37 i think. Google CPU-z and download the newer version.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,449 Posts
The first thing you want to do is to loosen your ram timings Cas Latency from 1.5 (shown on cpu-z) and up it to 3 or maybe 2.5.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Whew thanks for the update on CPU-Z , now get a clearer picture of my system specs.<br />
<br />
<br />
I tried to revert my ram back to 667 and upped my FSB to 240 since 240X10 =2400 and the HT multiplier at 4x , so 240 X4 =960 which is still well below the safety margin of 1000.<br />
<br />
Ive upped my voltage to 1.3 also but the weirdest thing is, my computer actually hung and i had to reset the CMOS .!!<br />
<br />
Is it due to me reverting my memory back to 667? I did not fiddle with the timings as Im not too confident with that atm. Ive kinda understood the FSB thingy atm . being HT multiplier and FSB must not be more then 1k but i just cant seem to understand the RAM part.<br />
<br />
What i do know is that the FSB/RAM ratio plays a part and that the freq must not exceed some figure.For some reason ive read the guides (<a href="http://www.short-media" target="_blank">www.short-media</a>) and i just cant comprehend heh. Anyone mind breaking down this info into simpler terms? Thanks in advance~<br />
<br />
The new specs on my com after CPU-Z 1.37:<br />
<a href="http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o124/feng_08/cpu-2125.jpg" target="_blank">http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o...8/cpu-2125.jpg</a><br />
<a href="http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o124/feng_08/spd-2012.jpg" target="_blank">http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o...8/spd-2012.jpg</a><br />
<a href="http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o124/feng_08/memory-2024.jpg" target="_blank">http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o...emory-2024.jpg</a><br />
<br />
PS: what is really messing me is the FSB/RAM ratio which says CPU/6 . In my case it means 2000/6 which gives 336? what does this figure mean?
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top