Overclock.net banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,270 Posts
id generally say use small ftt's for stability testing in Prime 95 for 6 hours and OCCT for quick stability testing while overclocking and same goes for intel burn test.

·
Registered
533 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rochfordrambo
View Post

ok so i have been using prime now for some time but have just got occt and am really impressed with it . so is it as trust worthy as prime ? just imo both knock spots off intel burn my cpu to shreds.
Also as im new to occt what is the best time too run it for is the 2 hour test enough or longer ?

*Edited for misunderstanding*

"I, personnaly, think (as an opinion) that burntest is the best way to go if you're gonna run only one stress-test. However, this is only an opinion an a personnal choice. Also, many people won't use burntest because it cranks temps a bit higher in most cases... this is up to you."

·
Registered
1,465 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tatsuo View Post
BOTH OCCT and PRIme totally suck.

I got my PC stable for 4 hours on OCCT, 8 hours on prime, but AS SOON as i start intelburntest, it's a matter of 0.5 seconds to get an error.

OCCT and Prime are for pansies scared of high temps it seems
Intelburnintest is the only way to go for a relatively short and sure answer on your stability questions.

OCCT and Prime/Ortho = CRAP
Intel burn test is the real thing.
Exaggerate much? If you can withstand hours of Prime/Orthos/OCCT then you are stable enough to run it. What can you possilbly do gaming or productivity-wise that would push your processor harder than those do? the Intel burn test is nice and crazy and all, but there's NOTHING that's going to push like that it's overkill.

Edit - I generally do OCCT to get a quick idea if the OC is even usable after I pass that with an OC that I like then I'll run it on Orthos overnight and through the work day for a more extended test.

·
oldfaht
1,436 Posts
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tatsuo