Overclock.net banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm new to overclocking and although I've read up on what to do, I don't really understand it 100% and I'm not able to get a stable system @ 4GHz.

The spec is:
Intel i7 920, D0
Noctua NH-U12P SE1366 CPU fan
Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R iX58 mobo
OCZ 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz/PC3-12800 Platinum Triple Channel Memory Kit CL7 1.65V (7-7-7-24)
Corsair 650W TX Series PSU - 120mm Fan, 80+% Efficiency, Single +12V Rail
Antec 900 Nine Hundred

I used this page as a guide and then pushed the BCLK up to 200 while increasing various voltages. I've tried to get my head round it, but I clearly don't understand enough. Here are the BIOS settings I changed:

Turbo = Disabled
Multi-threading = Disabled
CPU EIST = Disabled

BCLK Frequency = 200 (x20)
QPI Link Speed = x36
Uncore Frequency = x16
Memory Multiplier = 8
Performance Enhance = Standard

CPU Vcore = 1.35 (1.25 default)
QPI/VTT voltage = 1.335 (1.175 default)
IOH = 1.1 (kept as default)
DRAM voltage = 1.6 (1.5 default)

I ran Prime95 'Small FFTs' for 2 hours and it seemed fine, but running 'Blend' resulted in the PC freezing after about 40 minutes. (I also had some earlier BSODs while messing about with the voltages to get to the above settings.) The timings on the RAM from CPU-Z were:

DRAM Frequency = 800MHz
FSB DRAM = 2:8
CL = 10
tRCD = 11
tRP = 11
tRAS = 25
tRFC = 90
CR = 1t

I haven't changed any RAM timings manually.

The temps according to SpeedFan were all about 50 degrees when under full load.

Can anyone offer any advice on how to approach this? I won't be able to try anything until Monday, but hopefully I can understand more about how to acheive 4GHz.

Many thanks in advance.

p.s. I included the wrong RAM. Sorry about that - I've now corrected this.

·
Registered
67 Posts
Are you using OCZ platinums? I think they are rated at 7-7-7-24