Overclock.net banner
10721 - 10740 of 12824 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
620 Posts
Okay, I'm actually having a look at the B550 boards over X570. I only run one 4.0 NVMe 2TB drive and the only other thing I'd lose is my Lian Li front USB C connector.

But according to the list here the VRMs on the B550 Master may even outperform those on the X570 Master Motherboard VRM Tier List v2 (currently AMD only)

For CPU/RAM overclocking is the B550 Master worth a look?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,119 Posts
lol, my bad luck of the past week goes from annoying (having to return memory to Amazon for refund) to worse. Decided to give my loop early spring cleaning on the basis of reseating my CPU in case it was causing any issues with memory. All seemed to go well draining, cleaning, repasting and then putting back together. Usual leak tests done, no leaks.

While I booted up and posted I was having terrible issues getting my commander pro to be recognised in ICUE and Windows kept making the sound as if USB was being plugged/unplugged. Whilst trying to troubleshoot this the PC just turned off.

Then it seemed absolutely no power was going to it. Great, thought the power supply had blown. But I tested it with the jig that allows it, fans and anything directly connected to the power supply to power up (commander pro clearly working as fans and everything else run through this and it was powering).

So I took memory out, CPU out and graphics one by one trying to see if power would come back through the motherboard. Nothing.

Took the motherboard out of the case to test it suspended safely on its own, nothing. Still dead. What I have noticed is on the back down the bottom centrally if my power supply is connected and turned on it heats up ridiculously within seconds. To the point it'll get too hot to touch.

No idea what has happened, seems like a short-circuit of some sorts or something else. No evidence of water or water damage.

ASUS customer support so far have been absolutely dreadful. You spend all your time telling them what you've done to begin with, they respond with a generic have you done this, when you have. Now begins my 5th different agent who keep coming back asking stupid things like have you updated the BIOS when it appears your mobo is dead. If I finally get this to RMA (it's under warranty) goodness knows what to expect.

So on that note if you've got to the end of this post I'm considering buying an Aorus X570 master. If Asus take this back and repair it, great, I'll just sell it. Seems like it can be like 4-6 weeks or longer if Asus RMA something for repair.

Is the Gigabyte a good shout?



Yeah TM5 and y-cruncher seem to be the best ways to "punish" memory to make sure it is truly stable. Even then some TM5 profiles seem to push memory a bit more and/or can find out instability better than others.

1usmusv3 and anta777 seem to be the most recommended.

If you're not passing them then IMO you cannot call yourself stable even if you can bench and play games for weeks with no crashes.
Thats bad luck man.

So its looking likely that the motherboard was the issue all along.

Hopefully you wont have too much downtime.

Ive only used MSI the last few years so dont have any personal experience with other vendors, though I do keep reading that Gigabyte are not really up to scratch as they were in the past ...
 

·
Registered
Down on luck
Joined
·
113 Posts
2518436
2518437


Basically running the same set of primaries I ran on 1800 IF, but I loosen some timings in the tCL 14 screenshot to the timings in the tCL 15 screenshot since the tCL 14 set BSOD'd on me. The loosening of some timings didn't result in increased latency, and the tCL 14 timings seem to have more test to test variances between 6 tests too. The tCL14 timing ended in a BSOD somewhere after 1 or 2 hour of TM5 default @1usmus test. I went out to run some errants so I didn't know if there's any error generated in TM5 while I'm away.

tCL 14 AIDA Memory bandwidth test
Read (MB/s)​
Write (MB/s)​
Copy (MB/s)​
Latency (ns)​
55972​
55869​
51600​
57.3​
55869​
55943​
51616​
57.0​
55955​
55934​
51655​
57.1​
55959​
55925​
51577​
57.0​
55976​
55930​
51609​
57.1​
55937​
55925​
51604​
56.9​

tCL 15 AIDA Memory bandwidth test
Read (MB/s)​
Write (MB/s)​
Copy (MB/s)​
Latency (ns)​
55978​
55792​
51473​
56.9​
55952​
55768​
51451​
56.9​
55978​
55756​
51453​
56.8​
55953​
55771​
51459​
57.0​
55980​
55759​
51479​
57.0​
55990​
55754​
51408​
57.0​

@Veii Could the CPU be autcorrecting the RAM when running the tCL 14 set of timings?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
620 Posts
Thats bad luck man.

So its looking likely that the motherboard was the issue all along.

Hopefully you wont have too much downtime.

Ive only used MSI the last few years so dont have any personal experience with other vendors, though I do keep reading that Gigabyte are not really up to scratch as they were in the past ...
Seems to be, one thing I've noticed when I was trying to test it on a quickly put together "test bench", more like platform lol, is the back of the board getting to untouchable temps very quickly after the power supply is turned on. Something has clearly gone wrong.

Think I'm going to pickup a B550 Master, they're going fairly cheap now. That or the X570 Tomahawk. I'll see what retailer says tomorrow about the Strix. Fingers crossed they just refund but given its 9 months on it'll likely be the repair avenue.
 

·
Registered
5900x
Joined
·
5 Posts
for those to be B-die they act just like the C-die set i had. which
were HORRIBLE to overclock or even use XMP on AMD systems (built for AMD)
turned out they were C-die which for a long time i had thought they were B-die
for the timings your trying to run on those id have to go with what Veii is stating.
awful loose to be B-die. if those are indeed B-die you should have no issues running c16-16
or even with a little work something like this
(3200c14-14 tforce dark pro) see if you can do this set here tho (not c14-14) look at the second picture...
if those cant do c16-16 (4x8 set so you shouldn have issues) might need your own proc/RTT/Drv strength's etc

(EDIT) @Veii looks like those are indeed B-die says B-die finder...
View attachment 2518407
View attachment 2518405
View attachment 2518404
Well I'll be! The CL16 timings you posted were the right ones to finally get me into 3800/1900 without constant WHEA 19 errors. I'll run it through TM5, Karhu, and some others while I'm working today to make sure it really is good. And yeah, I did check for this SKU on bdie finder before I bought them as well. I knew I'd probably be sacrificing some sort of performance by sticking with the Vengeance Pro RGBs, but I at least wanted to make sure they were b-dies.
2518441

To be fair, I'm not sure that I like that I don't know exactly which settings I changed that allowed it to work correctly at 3800, but it's still a leap in the right direction.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
25 Posts
Where can I find information about manually setting the RTT_PARK, RTT_NOM, RTT_WR, CAD_BUS (CLKDrvStr/AddrCmdDrvStr/CsOdtDrvStr/CKEDrvStr), VDDP, CLDO_VDDP, ProcODT and SOC voltage values?

I think if I could find a stable setting, I could try for CL15 with 2933 MHz or go beyond the 2933 MHz that I'm stuck at no matter what timing values I try.

I can't use the Dram calculator as a starting point because of I'm using two different RAM kits (3200 MHz CL16 Samsung B-die and 3600 MHz CL16 Micron B-die) on an Asrock B450m Pro4 board that uses a daisy chain topography. The Ryzen 1600's notoriously weak IMC certainly doesn't help either.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
224 Posts
@Veii Could the CPU be autcorrecting the RAM when running the tCL 14 set of timings?
There's an easier explanation: screenshot with tCL 14 shows tPHYRDL 28, while for tCL15 it's 26. Don't know what it was on the other channel (on B2 stick). But 28 is slower than 26.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: Mach3.2

·
Registered
Joined
·
81 Posts
So on that note if you've got to the end of this post I'm considering buying an Aorus X570 master. If Asus take this back and repair it, great, I'll just sell it. Seems like it can be like 4-6 weeks or longer if Asus RMA something for repair.

Is the Gigabyte a good shout?
Oh man :/ at least that probably explains the issue you had no POSTing with Park < /1 :/

I had issues with the aorus pro wifi mini itx, so far the asus x570-i has been better ( even though I mostly migrated for the temp sensor header on the board, since I use the water temp for my fans curve ).

PBO on the gigabyte, results were less than stellar, about 2k points less than the asus. It took a long time also for the aorus to get the AGESA updates too compared to the Asus.

I was able though to boot at IF 2000 on the Aorus, which I can't yet with the asus.

It's also itx boards, so don't know if it applies to full size ones ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
37 Posts
4.85 held should be 10.4ns not 10.8 ~ or 10.5ns on an allcore (PBO is faster) ~ meaning your cores do not perform equally or EDC limiter throttles too strong
(memOC need a slight EDC lift)
could it be that AIDA uses just core 0 during the latency test and you are just unlucky when this core is on of the weakest on on your CPU?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
620 Posts
Oh man :/ at least that probably explains the issue you had no POSTing with Park < /1 :/

I had issues with the aorus pro wifi mini itx, so far the asus x570-i has been better ( even though I mostly migrated for the temp sensor header on the board, since I use the water temp for my fans curve ).

PBO on the gigabyte, results were less than stellar, about 2k points less than the asus. It took a long time also for the aorus to get the AGESA updates too compared to the Asus.

I was able though to boot at IF 2000 on the Aorus, which I can't yet with the asus.

It's also itx boards, so don't know if it applies to full size ones ?
Funnily enough right now ASUS is lagging way behind with their X570 boards lol. Still stuck on Patch A. Even the B550 Master has had Patch B for 10 days now.

There is a lot of horror stories around Gigabyte and BIOS issues, then the revisions they needed for the X570 Aorus Master to fix a few things. But it seems at least in terms of BIOS rollouts they've improved a lot in the last 6 months or so.

I do see quite a lot of good OCing levels hit with the B550 boards. Some of the X570 top end boards too, to be fair. Seems like any option will likely do me better than the Strix F Gaming. Crossing my fingers I can just push for a refund tomorrow or even a gift card. Retailer is now OOS on the Strix F Gaming on their site and for in-store pickup anyway. So it would have to be a repair, or off to a repair centre for a refurb.

The Strix F Gaming seemed to treat me OK with PBO, can't lie there, but memory has been a bit of a joke and I presume the more instability I was finding even with settings that seemed previously stable were due to the board deteriorating. Still be interested to know what has gone wrong. The board is completely spotless, I can't see any obvious signs of burning or corrosion.

I'm going to guess some sort of power failure, or failure to transfer or handle power properly, resulting in some inevitable "bang", board dead lol. Even the RGB is dead.

edit: My Strix would boot 2000 FCLK, but anything 1933~2000 was WHEA error central. 2000 especially. Only 1900 had zero WHEA errors.
 

·
Old to Overclock.net
Joined
·
361 Posts
#4 is a PCB crash, either by overcurrent or by bad RTT values
#2's are fine, you can work them away
#4 are more serious
Also you want to match tRP to tRCDavg
Either drop tRCD_WR to 15, or increase tRP to 17
You should also give 1-4-4-1-6-6 SD,DD's a try at first

Powering issue looks to be it for you
Soo give 30-20-30-20 a try with your current VDIMM
#4 you have to get away first :)
Generally #6, #0, #12, #4 are bad and need to be taken away first. It doesn't matter if later more errors appear
I give up. The worst bin one can ever get I guess:
2518457

vDIMM 1.45v.
I've tried different set-ups, from RCDWR 15 to RCDRD/RP 17, tRFC >320.

Or couldit be so, that Ive corrupted win so bad with unstable conf stresstesting, that tm5 is no more valid until I reinstall the os?
 

·
Registered
Down on luck
Joined
·
113 Posts
There's an easier explanation: screenshot with tCL 14 shows tPHYRDL 28, while for tCL15 it's 26. Don't know what it was on the other channel (on B2 stick). But 28 is slower than 26.
The tPHYRDL for the B2 stick in both screenshots are 26. I wasn't expecting 2 ticks of tPHYRDL to be that powerful. :LOL:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
View attachment 2518436 View attachment 2518437

Basically running the same set of primaries I ran on 1800 IF, but I loosen some timings in the tCL 14 screenshot to the timings in the tCL 15 screenshot since the tCL 14 set BSOD'd on me. The loosening of some timings didn't result in increased latency, and the tCL 14 timings seem to have more test to test variances between 6 tests too. The tCL14 timing ended in a BSOD somewhere after 1 or 2 hour of TM5 default @1usmus test. I went out to run some errants so I didn't know if there's any error generated in TM5 while I'm away.

tCL 14 AIDA Memory bandwidth test
Read (MB/s)​
Write (MB/s)​
Copy (MB/s)​
Latency (ns)​
55972​
55869​
51600​
57.3​
55869​
55943​
51616​
57.0​
55955​
55934​
51655​
57.1​
55959​
55925​
51577​
57.0​
55976​
55930​
51609​
57.1​
55937​
55925​
51604​
56.9​

tCL 15 AIDA Memory bandwidth test
Read (MB/s)​
Write (MB/s)​
Copy (MB/s)​
Latency (ns)​
55978​
55792​
51473​
56.9​
55952​
55768​
51451​
56.9​
55978​
55756​
51453​
56.8​
55953​
55771​
51459​
57.0​
55980​
55759​
51479​
57.0​
55990​
55754​
51408​
57.0​

@Veii Could the CPU be autcorrecting the RAM when running the tCL 14 set of timings?
Did you try if you can run tRCDRD 16 at 1800?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
620 Posts
I've seen the B550 UNIFY-X cuts two of the DIMMS, that should in theory make it even better for overclocking memory on 2x16GB, right?
 

·
Registered
B550 gaming edge, 5800x, 5600x, 3600xt, 1600AF, 2070S, 4x8 3200c14, 2tb adata 8200sx PRO, 500gb 970e
Joined
·
575 Posts
booting at 1933 IF CL15 no problem. WHEA 19 all over the place... Gonna try playing with ccd / iod to stabilize that ...
cLDO_VDDP might be the best bet to tinker with if your stable on IOD/CCD.

Well I'll be! The CL16 timings you posted were the right ones to finally get me into 3800/1900 without constant WHEA 19 errors.
What V-Dimm you running to get that stable? Spoiler-those same timings run 4000/2000 fclk on 5000 chips. If your chip posts. (My 5800x has whea 19s but runs fine, my 5600x has no issues running it at all but is horrible at core overclocking) might be user error.

To be fair, I'm not sure that I like that I don't know exactly which settings I changed that allowed it to work correctly at 3800, but it's still a leap in the right direction.
This entire thread back to page 350 will fill you full and burst with stuff you can learn and test.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: gled_fr

·
Registered
Down on luck
Joined
·
113 Posts
Did you try if you can run tRCDRD 16 at 1800?
I believe there is a tRCDRD hard wall for Micron Rev. B, I briefly tried 16 but it was very unstable so I went with 17.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: spajdr

·
Registered
Joined
·
113 Posts
Yep, agree with @Mach3.2 tRCDRD at 16 is a big NO at 1800.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
113 Posts
@Ethelneth ahh well I have BL8G30C15U4R.M8FE kits and it's a no go :)
 
10721 - 10740 of 12824 Posts
Top