Overclock.net banner

1241 - 1259 of 1259 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
436 Posts
maybe AMD or ASRock set it this way on purpose?
Hardly asrock, but agesa - most likely. Obviously, there's something to it, otherwise there would be cases with so called "fclk holes" at 1933 or 1966 or even 1866, which I never heard of. In addition, that strange 1900 fclk limitation in 1.1.0.0 patch D and so on.
 

·
GoochPooch
Joined
·
59 Posts
My problem is the idle temps whenever a few cores ramp up on random background stuff (CPU usage <3-5%). Running benchmarks, I get about mid-high 60C on my Kraken Z73. I've been researching this idle temp ever since earlier this year when I got the 5950x. Most people just say these chips run warm/hot idle, but occasionally I see a few people that are able to idle in the 30s, which I've only been able to pull off idling in high 30s C in the winter when ambient temps are in the 60s F (<20C). I wonder if I need to redo the thermal paste?

I run 3 top radiator fans top exhaust, and 3 side intake 3 bottom intake. I even tried opening the case up and temps are about the same.
The nature of the beast 5950X is quick thermal spikes for single core loads..BUT...My first suggestion would be to clean and re-seat the CPU heatsink ! Then, Orient your rad fans to pull cooler air from OUTSIDE the case and Wicked's suggestion to orient more fans to exhaust to create a negative pressure inside the case to compliment the rad fans blowing in.

My three rad fans are the ONLY fans blowing inward.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
289 Posts
Hardly asrock, but agesa - most likely. Obviously, there's something to it, otherwise there would be cases with so called "fclk holes" at 1933 or 1966 or even 1866, which I never heard of. In addition, that strange 1900 fclk limitation in 1.1.0.0 patch D and so on.
The plot thickens, like i said, no way to get 1900 fclk, but 2000 at 1T, no problems at 1.5 volts, which is not an issue with this memory, royal silver. No tweaking of the memory at all, its rated 3600Mhz 16 16 16 16 32, same timings at 4000Mhz. I guess my 5800X is a good one.

2489121
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: chispy and gucci904

·
Registered
Joined
·
436 Posts
No tweaking of the memory at all, its rated 3600Mhz 16 16 16 16 32, same timings at 4000Mhz. I guess my 5800X is a good one
Would you mind to update AIDA since its results differs a lot from version to version. Current is 6.33.5700
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
289 Posts
Would you mind to update AIDA since its results differs a lot from version to version. Current is 6.33.5700
I did update it right after, and got fairly close to the same results, read was off though, but ill post here in a bit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
289 Posts
Would you mind to update AIDA since its results differs a lot from version to version. Current is 6.33.5700
I've been getting a few whea errors, i have a custom view in event viewer set up to catch them. I've changed the timings a bit to try and get them stopped, this is the latest, and it seems stable, but more testing will be needed, also need to run Karhu for a while and check for errors. Here you go, Aida Updated. I may try setting vddcr_soc to 1.2 volts, as it seems this is the holy grail for taichi.

2489186
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: chispy

·
Old School Overclocker !
Joined
·
360 Posts
The plot thickens, like i said, no way to get 1900 fclk, but 2000 at 1T, no problems at 1.5 volts, which is not an issue with this memory, royal silver. No tweaking of the memory at all, its rated 3600Mhz 16 16 16 16 32, same timings at 4000Mhz. I guess my 5800X is a good one.

View attachment 2489121

Thank you so much for this great news and testing. I need to try this new Bios and see if i can get fclk / mem 1:1 at 2000Mhz. I have been waiting a long time for this news :D , time to re-visit my Taichi x570 (y) , ASRock has been absolutely great lately with their bios on all plattforms ( AMD and Intel ) .
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
289 Posts
Thank you so much for this great news and testing. I need to try this new Bios and see if i can get fclk / mem 1:1 at 2000Mhz. I have been waiting a long time for this news :D , time to re-visit my Taichi x570 (y) , ASRock has been absolutely great lately with their bios on all plattforms ( AMD and Intel ) .
I seem to have went straight to 2000 flck with the new Bios, and had not tried 3800 at all, oopsy.

Ya, I'm really happy, it seems to have been fixed, i decided to try going back to 3800Mhz, and it worked flawlessly. No stability issues at all so far, but had to take the ram voltage up to 1.47V for 3800 Mhz, but still very happy with the results at 3800Mhz, for my particular ram. I think i can get the timings better too, most likely to 15 15 15 15 with a little tinkering. I think 4000Mhz is very possible stable, but i don't want to bump up ram voltage higher then 1.5V. The difference between 4000 and 3800 is really almost negligible. It is good to know, we can run 4000Mhz kits without too many issues now.

PS: Don't forget to post your results, I'm excited to see what you can do with it, I'm thinking you may be able to go beyond 4000Mhz, good luck.

2489189
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
436 Posts
I think 4000Mhz is very possible stable, but i don't want to bump up ram voltage higher then 1.5V
IDK, may be your ram modules has higher binned memory chips, but mine wants 1.5+ for [email protected] - Trcd16 already, let alone flat 15. This is best I can achieve with 15-16-15-32
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
289 Posts
IDK, may be your ram modules has higher binned memory chips, but mine wants 1.5+ for [email protected] - Trcd16 already, let alone flat 15. This is best I can achieve with 15-16-15-32
Nice results though, what are you running the ram voltage at 1.5 or higher? I want to see what's a good voltage, i wrote Gskill about my voltages and temps, and they told me it was not an issue, that the Royal Silver was capable of much higher ram speeds then i was using.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
436 Posts
what are you running the ram voltage at 1.5 or higher?
Something in the 1.512 - 1.524 range, sorry, can't recall exact value, there were too many test setups ))
And I think 1.5 is safe for yours, but better to double check it, either in dram stability thread here, or somewhere else, since it may need active cooling to be stable at higher than 1.5 -1.55V, not sure soc needs more than 1.15V for up to 4000 as well.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
289 Posts
Something in the 1.512 - 1.524 range, sorry, can't recall exact value, there were too many test setups ))
And I think 1.5 is safe for yours, but better to double check it, either in dram stability thread here, or somewhere else, since it may need active cooling to be stable at higher than 1.5 -1.55V, not sure soc needs more than 1.15V for up to 4000 as well.
On soc voltage, 1.2 max, which is not what i would do, i think in time it will cause issues with the memory controller. 1.1~1.15 is the max i would go. I have the gskill royal silver, its a 10 layer pcb, so can handle 1.5 easily, just look at all of their 4000 Mhz plus ram, all are at 1.5 volts xmp. B-die has a tendency to hit issues at around 50C, I've seen mine in the summer go as high as 42C running at 3800 with tight timings.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22 Posts
Looks like I can now hit 2000 FCLK. Not 1900 or 1933, but 2000 exactly by setting VDDG IOD/CCD to 1.05. Getting it stable and then getting memory up to 4000MHz, not sure how possible that will be...

Edit: RIP, back on 4.00. My 3600CL14 timings weren't even attainable anymore.
 

·
Old School Overclocker !
Joined
·
360 Posts
Update it to latest bios P4.30 on my Taichi x570 and i almost got stable 2000Mhz core clocks / IF 1:1 but i could not stabilize it even with 1.20v on the VDDG IOD/CCD. At this point i do not know if is the chip limitation or the bios. 5900x can do stable 1900Mhz core / IF 1:1 all day but nothing more as it gets unstable and things runs slow , very slow in windows slow motion feeling ...

Anyone has any more ideas how to stabilize 2000Mhz 1:1 on the cpu and IF ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
447 Posts
Does anybody know how I can get 2 seperate audio devices for my front and back audio? On my previous boards there was a setting in the Realtek Audio Console to achive this but I can not find it with Asrock.

2490175
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
436 Posts
Anyone has any more ideas how to stabilize 2000Mhz 1:1 on the cpu and IF ?
Depens on what was meant by "stabilize". If it's about WHEA's - then nothing can help I'm afraid.
But some voltage tuning may help to aleviate performance drop related to fairly high stress put on internal bus at 1933+ FCLK.
Do note, that's just my personal experience which is not nesessarily applicable to other users' config. Anyway, couple of tips:

1. Try to keep all external voltages as low as possible except one (see 2), four out of five :
VSOC, VDDP, VDDG_CCD, VDDG_IOD - not perfect, but working set is on ZT-screen below

2.The 5th, more important one, CPU_VDD18. It should be increased instead.
In my case, the default 1.8V is not enough for anything above 1900.
I used 1.90 - 1.95V for 1933-1966, and 2.00V for 2000, 2033+ required 2.05 - 2.10 (max possible for my board)

This is approximate config for the system with RAM [email protected] , PBO , tuned curve and boost +200 (max for 5600X):

2489962
cm-low-extV.png
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: chispy

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,023 Posts
Anyone who wants to disable all auto driver updates in Windows with Windows 2004 or higher, save this code as update.reg in Notepad++ and click on it.

Then Windows won't install crap like the AMD drivers that crashed peeps. I always install all my drivers manually on a clean Windows install or integrate them into my Windows ISO install.wim and boot.wim for auto-installs when installing Windows. :)


Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Device Metadata]
"PreventDeviceMetadataFromNetwork"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\DriverSearching]
"DriverUpdateWizardWuSearchEnabled"=dword:00000000
"SearchOrderConfig"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsUpdate]
"ExcludeWUDriversInQualityUpdate"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\CloudContent]
"DisableWindowsConsumerFeatures"=dword:00000001
 

·
Old School Overclocker !
Joined
·
360 Posts
Depens on what was meant by "stabilize". If it's about WHEA's - then nothing can help I'm afraid.
But some voltage tuning may help to aleviate performance drop related to fairly high stress put on internal bus at 1933+ FCLK.
Do note, that's just my personal experience which is not nesessarily applicable to other users' config. Anyway, couple of tips:

1. Try to keep all external voltages as low as possible except one (see 2), four out of five :
VSOC, VDDP, VDDG_CCD, VDDG_IOD - not perfect, but working set is on ZT-screen below

2.The 5th, more important one, CPU_VDD18. It should be increased instead.
In my case, the default 1.8V is not enough for anything above 1900.
I used 1.90 - 1.95V for 1933-1966, and 2.00V for 2000, 2033+ required 2.05 - 2.10 (max possible for my board)

This is approximate config for the system with RAM [email protected] , PBO , tuned curve and boost +200 (max for 5600X):

View attachment 2489962 View attachment 2489960

Thank you for the help and input , i tried everything with all kind of combinations of voltages and nothing would make 2000Mhz 1:1 stable , i can even boot into windows at 2133Mhz now at 1:1 but it runs in slow motion inside windows , very weird as everything runs so slow even the mouse. At least 1933Mhz 1:1 is stable and that's the max my chip will do 5900x ( at this point it comes down to the cpu and not the motherboard ). Overall i'm very happy with this new bios as performance wise is a lot better than previous bios.

Apprectiate it your help.
 
1241 - 1259 of 1259 Posts
Top