Overclock.net banner
17761 - 17780 of 18020 Posts

·
9 Cans of Ravioli
Joined
·
22,043 Posts
That seems like a poor IMC. 1.35v SA seems high. I’m running 1.18v SA/IO for 4133CL17 with tightened secondary/tertiary and tight RTL/IO. I wonder if the IMC is holding back the chips, though 15-16-16 seems quite good.
that was a >week ago, I'm still trying to dial things in but I'm stable at 1.29v at 4200. maybe lower but haven't tried yet, still trying to dial in the RAM first.

it definitely needs more SA/IO than my old 9900K though.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
64 Posts
ICs require higher VCCSA? I thought SA voltage was for the IMC.
No, but he said he couldn't get them stable with 1.35V SA and 1.55V VDIMM. SA for 10850K IMC is certainly enough, so that is not the problem. He also didn't say 1.35V SA is the lowest stable, so I wouldn't claim his IMC is bad.
Then it's the ICs. You can verify that quite easily, set 15-15-15 and start with lower frequency like 3800 and check min voltage required, then same for 4000. If 4000 needs 1.52V or so, then for sure that is the problem on 4133 15-15-15 1.55V.
On dual rank I can't even run 3700 15-15-15, I think it's the board as I'm on second dual rank kit now. But on single rank it went like this:
4000 - 1.48V, 4100 - 1.51V, 4133 - 1.52V, 4200 - 1.54V was semi stable only for 2 hours

It certainly helps if you know the limits of your IMC and ICs. What helps here if you are at least on a second kit. For example my current kit is not stable 4533 C19. If that was my first kit, I could also blame IMC as it's hard to verify that when you're already at 1.40V SA. But I had a kit before that worked 4533 C18 no problem, so I know it the ICs.

"Windows 10 is still going strong".
"I had to fix it 4 times though"
"AirDC++ doesn't work anymore"
:unsure:
But it's so easy to fix, you just run sfc/scannow or Dism commands. And AirDC I fixed quickly now, I had backup from march and only one file was corrupted, so other files are new. I'm not saying secondary SSD isn't a better option, I'm just saying Windows is quite reselient.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
592 Posts
that was a >week ago, I'm still trying to dial things in but I'm stable at 1.29v. maybe lower but haven't tried yet, still trying to dial in the RAM first.

it definitely needs more SA/IO than my old 9900K though.
Yeah, even 1.29v SA seems high considering the frequency, but that's just the difference per chip I suppose. I guess my chip is decent on that front since I can run quite low IO/SA and be stable at 4133 17-17-17-32, though it's not the best clocker. I could probably push the mem a bit harder as I'm only at 1.52v, but until I have the rig under the custom loop, it's not worth the extra heat. Once my 3080 on the hybrid cooler saturates during 30min of gaming, it's pumping pretty warm air into the case. With the mem at 1.55v it's still stable and I have no issues, but again.. don't see the point. Once I get everything on a loop I should be able to try and push for 4266 or maybe 4400. I know I was having a hard time getting 4266 to post, so we'll see..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
650 Posts
Does anyone test with OCCT SSE/AVX2 memory tests? I don't understand. My 17-18-38 3866 will pass 3-4 passes of Memtest86 but errors almost immediately in OCCT AVX2 memory test. The culprit seems to be tRAS 38, if I set tRAS 39 it will pass OCCT. Does this seem unusual? SA/IO is 1.25 each, DRAM voltage 1.4v.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
351 Posts
Does anyone test with OCCT SSE/AVX2 memory tests? I don't understand. My 17-18-38 3866 will pass 3-4 passes of Memtest86 but errors almost immediately in OCCT AVX2 memory test. The culprit seems to be tRAS 38, if I set tRAS 39 it will pass OCCT. Does this seem unusual? SA/IO is 1.25 each, DRAM voltage 1.4v.
Well, now that is a good reason not to put a lot of faith in memtest86!
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: SunnyStefan

·
Registered
Joined
·
69 Posts
OCCT is great for stress testing RAM / CPU, it's been consistently improving in terms of features and error detection for awhile now.
If you want to use something other than OCCT, I'd consider looking into TestMem5 (w/ anta config), Karhu, or GSAT.
Prime95 is also fantastic, but the ideal test parameters will vary depending on the hardware being used, and the component being stressed.
I think Memtest86 falls short when compared to the stress testing applications mentioned above.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
has anyone passed GSAT with a Z590 board?
I swapped Apex XII with a Apex XIII, my 2x16 F4-4000C19D-32GTZKK kit fails to pass GSAT no matter setting I throw, even XMP
TM5 with anta777 profile is good though

I know that there's still a lot of work to fix the bios for Z590, it's still a mess...
 

·
Registered
10700K/XII Apex/2x16 3200C14 G.Skill Bdie/RTX 2080
Joined
·
247 Posts
has anyone passed GSAT with a Z590 board?
I swapped Apex XII with a Apex XIII, my 2x16 F4-4000C19D-32GTZKK kit fails to pass GSAT no matter setting I throw, even XMP
TM5 with anta777 profile is good though

I know that there's still a lot of work to fix the bios for Z590, it's still a mess...
I have heard the z590 apex is not as strong as z490 apex with dual rank. I would try mch fullcheck enabled, mrc fastboot disabled, round trip latency enabled. It might be a matter of also manually tuning the odts. What bios are you on?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
yeah, to be honest Z590 is a downgrade, but when you're getting bored what can you do =))
0903 mainly but last night I tried the default one 0506 from dual bios, also some other versions...
still keeping the 10900K, not gonna make another mistake "upgrading" something else =))
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,810 Posts
Even if I ever find a secondhand cheap 11900K I'll just stick to my Z490 Ace. No need to upgrade even for PCI-E 4.0 for me and this board does incredibly well with DR dimms so far.

Z87 to Z97 actually made sense and so did Z170 to Z270 but this..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
103 Posts
Does anyone test with OCCT SSE/AVX2 memory tests? I don't understand. My 17-18-38 3866 will pass 3-4 passes of Memtest86 but errors almost immediately in OCCT AVX2 memory test. The culprit seems to be tRAS 38, if I set tRAS 39 it will pass OCCT. Does this seem unusual? SA/IO is 1.25 each, DRAM voltage 1.4v.
How much do you have the tRTP?

Inviato dal mio AC2003 utilizzando Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts
A good Kit of 4000C14 bin.
Memtest stable arround 43° and 4700 possible if imc is allstable at 4700.
View attachment 2514239
excellent result. Does the 7ns rcd kit have it? 4000 14 14 or 4266 15 15?
If so then I think you can try 4800 17 17. I think this task will not be a problem for apex 12.
Unfortunately, I can’t force you to load 4800 on a 4 dimm board. None of the odt works.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
300 Posts
Wow very nice results 👍. Seems to be much stronger than your old bin? Vdimm seems quite strong too for 4666 C16 1.59 is amazing for dual rank. What frequency can they boot up to?
My imc limit me with slope´s generall at 4770Mhz, max. 24/7 allstable 4666, 4700 is not in every case stable with my imc.
The new Dimm´s with the right CPU i think can do 4800.
But in Auto GSat stability my old Kit is the better one there it is possible to drive 4666CL17-17 1h Gsat without slopes, at CL16 the 4000C14 Kit is stronger, but with 4666cl17 not GSat stable.
But i can say to you 2x 4000C14bin one 4000C14 Kit was not Gsat stable cl16-17 at 4600/4666mhz, another kit can´t drive trdrd_sg at 6 only 7 but boot up to 4700 easier.

It´s really important that the ic´s on the dimms like equal, if that isn´t so, i think then trdrd_sg 6 not possible and GSat is for trashcan.
Both dimms must be like the same, that is the reason why my old Kit is really awesome with Auto slopes.

I think both Kit´s are awesome, for the most people like my old Kit will be better.
 

·
Registered
10700K/XII Apex/2x16 3200C14 G.Skill Bdie/RTX 2080
Joined
·
247 Posts
My imc limit me with slope´s generall at 4770Mhz, max. 24/7 allstable 4666, 4700 is not in every case stable with my imc.
The new Dimm´s with the right CPU i think can do 4800.
But in Auto GSat stability my old Kit is the better one there it is possible to drive 4666CL17-17 1h Gsat without slopes, at CL16 the 4000C14 Kit is stronger, but with 4666cl17 not GSat stable.
But i can say to you 2x 4000C14bin one 4000C14 Kit was not Gsat stable cl16-17 at 4600/4666mhz, another kit can´t drive trdrd_sg at 6 only 7 but boot up to 4700 easier.

It´s really important that the ic´s on the dimms like equal, if that isn´t so, i think then trdrd_sg 6 not possible and GSat is for trashcan.
Both dimms must be like the same, that is the reason why my old Kit is really awesome with Auto slopes.

I think both Kit´s are awesome, for the most people like my old Kit will be better.
My current kit does not boot trdrd_sg 6 at 4600+. I think it is a good indicator of the quality of a kit. As always there will be lottery involved even on their highest binned kits they can't guarantee such high frequencies with tight timings. I see you are driving trdrd_dr at 5 at 4666 that is very impressive.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
300 Posts
My current kit does not boot trdrd_sg 6 at 4600+. I think it is a good indicator of the quality of a kit. As always there will be lottery involved even on their highest binned kits they can't guarantee such high frequencies with tight timings. I see you are driving trdrd_dr at 5 at 4666 that is very impressive.
That means only that your Sticks not equal to each other, or you have one good and one not so good modul.
To find 2 equal sticks in only one Kit that can do all is extrem rare.

excellent result. Does the 7ns rcd kit have it? 4000 14 14 or 4266 15 15?
If so then I think you can try 4800 17 17. I think this task will not be a problem for apex 12.
Unfortunately, I can’t force you to load 4800 on a 4 dimm board. None of the odt works.
My imc cant do 4800, but this kit is not only good in ns,also in frequency, the Kit can do 4800^^.
Here is a fast test with 4000cl14-14 need´s min. 1,51V bios for memtest, that are 1,522V HWinfo.
2514260
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
103 Posts
I've replaced the z590 apex and patriot viper 4400, but the same issue occur. Sometime train well, other IOLs are 2 apart.
With mch full check on, TM5 show error on 4 and 5 test. Without full check, there are no error. Any suggestion?

Inviato dal mio AC2003 utilizzando Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
10700K/XII Apex/2x16 3200C14 G.Skill Bdie/RTX 2080
Joined
·
247 Posts
I've replaced the z590 apex and patriot viper 4400, but the same issue occur. Sometime train well, other IOLs are 2 apart.
With mch full check on, TM5 show error on 4 and 5 test. Without full check, there are no error. Any suggestion?

Inviato dal mio AC2003 utilizzando Tapatalk
I would make sure the cpu is put into the socket properly with proper contact, (no bent pins and clean pads on cpu), sometimes you should also clean the contacts of the ram with some isopropyl alcohol.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
103 Posts
I would make sure the cpu is put into the socket properly with proper contact, (no bent pins and clean pads on cpu), sometimes you should also clean the contacts of the ram with some isopropyl alcohol.
I've already checked the socket and ram. The issue begin above 4200mhz. Problably manually tuning the RTL/IOL could help.

Inviato dal mio AC2003 utilizzando Tapatalk
 
17761 - 17780 of 18020 Posts
Top