Overclock.net banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Tank destroyer and a god
2,624 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
As I am a hobby photographer, photos which are already edited and uploaded to FB or Instagram still need to be properly archived, especially the original RAW files. I dont want to get much into "NAS and Cloud are not real backup", lets just say that offline media which allow to be written just once are still great way of archiving origina. files, , but you dont need to access them on daily basis in their original quality. So i looked back to the past on optical drives and media.

a) Media Capacity
BluRays offer 25, 50 and 100gb/128gb of storage, which is perfect, if you want to make a mirror backup of common SD card with photoshoot.

b) Media Life expectancy
I actually wasnt expecting anything new in this field but i was in for a pleasant surprise:

The technology was around for years, but it became widely available by 2016. Media manufacturers on top of that promise better scratch resistance, or using silver layer instead of aluminium for better life expectancy.

c) Drives Availability
Still around both SATA and USB. Getting a decent drive with BD-XL (Quad-Layer) and M-Disc support is not a problem.

d) Disk Burning software
Some of the once popular burning software are no longer updated. That could mean lack of support for larger BD-TL or BD-QL media.
Listed here:

f) UHD friendly and Unfriendly drives
If you want to watch UHD bluray movies on PC, while keeping everything legal, you need Intel 7-10gen and expensive player software, while in many cases you will run into trouble anyways.

To solve them you might need "UHD friendly" blu ray drive, and MakeMKV or similar software to decode your original disk. More info about that here:

·
Registered
557 Posts