Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey I'm just wondering if I can overclock a Core i5-2400. I'm pretty new to overclocking. And if I can overclock a 2400, how would I do it? Thanks!

·
Registered
5,827 Posts
You can overclock it through the base clock, but not by much and it probably will end up corrupting some of the data on your hard drives, so don't do it. Get a 2500k or 3570k to overclock.

·
WCG Enthusiast
1,896 Posts
The non K series allows the multiplier to to be upped slightly and the base clock to be manipulated a couple Mhz.

I used to have a 2400 and I was able to get it to 3.7ghz.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by theonedub View Post

The non K series allows the multiplier to to be upped slightly and the base clock to be manipulated a couple Mhz.
I used to have a 2400 and I was able to get it to 3.7ghz.
How exactly do I overclock it?

·
Registered
1,755 Posts
You can raise CPU multiplier by a bit, I think 4 speed bins on top of normal turbo but I'm not sure if that's with all cores active. You can also try raising BCLK by ~5mhz. More than that probably won't be stable since so much is tied to it.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by samuelspark View Post

Go to BIOS and increase the BLCK to 105-110.
Keep in mind you need a P67 or Z68 motherboard.
I have a P67 mobo

·
Registered
5,827 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by samuelspark View Post

Go to BIOS and increase the BLCK to 105-110.
Keep in mind you need a P67 or Z68 motherboard.
If you increase the base clock, it may corrupt your data and damage your motherboard, expansion cards and storage devices. I've been told that you should not overclock via the base clock within windows.

As far as I'm told, you probably won't get more than a base clock of 103 MHz and keep it stable.

·
WCG Enthusiast
1,896 Posts