1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
CPU: Athlon XP 1800+
MB: ASUS A7V8X-X
Memory: 512MB DDR333

I am noob in OC world, and Im trying to OC my computer here.
Im now using the stock setting - 11.5 x 133 = 1530

Tried to lower my multiplyer and raise the FBS...but doesnt work, it wont boot up.

What should I do to make my PC runs a little bit faster??

Thanks.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Hmm...

Is it locking up? Crashing? Spontaneously rebooting? More information is better.

First thing I'd check is how hot you're running. That's been my main problem. Also, you might need to up your voltages to make sure that you get enough power.

Check your temperature in the bios, and you can also use a program called EVEREST (Click for link) to do scans of your status.

I'm a noob, so I don't know everything, but these checking things has helped me.
There's a guide somewhere around this forum called the Ultimate Guide to Overclocking. I suggest you give it a gander if you haven't yet.

Peace,
---Ae

·
Registered
311 Posts
First before you do anything i would Lower that Multi to 11 see if it boots up. If it boots up i'd start raising the FSB until it don't boot anymore. Then i would up the vcore to maybe 1.7 and see where that gets me. I wouldn't go past 1.8 with
aircooling though. If it don't boot up when you change the multi, that probably means 1 of 2 things, 1= Your multi is locked 2= You motherboard sucks. If you can't change Multi then just start raising FSB until it won't boot anymore, and then raise the VCORE just a hair and see where that gets you. Keep doing that until you feel comfortable with the temps and everthing. Also try a multi of 10 and see if you can get the FSB up to 220. Then you would have a AMD 3200+. REmeber the more FSB the better!

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Quote:

Originally Posted by aenimalius
Hmm...

Is it locking up? Crashing? Spontaneously rebooting? More information is better.