Overclock.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
MB: Asus P4VP-MX
CPU: Intel Celeron 2.60GHz 478-Pin 128KB L2 Cache

I tried to look on the BIOS, I guess its locked and wont let me adjust the speed and stuff. Those blanks are all greyed out.

But then Im a noob of OC, thats why I want to come here and ask some pros and see if I can still OC this computer.

Thanks!!

·
Registered
698 Posts
Look for an option along the lines of "Bus Speed" and set it to Manual instead of Auto.

·
Registered
840 Posts
If you can't find it try updating the BIOS (probably using AsusUpdate, if not available for that mobo, use AFUDOS).

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jack

If you can't find it try updating the BIOS (probably using AsusUpdate, if not available for that mobo, use AFUDOS).

Updated the BIOS, still won't let me adjust the FSB, etc.
It said Ratio Status : Locked

humm...btw the AFUDOS mentioned above....how do I use AFUDOS to OC my computer?

Thank You.

·
Registered
698 Posts
can you unlock the ratio status? Im 99% sure there is an option that has to be changed from auto to manual for it to work

·
Registered
840 Posts
AFUDOS doesn't OC your computer. AFUDOS is an MS-DOS based way of updating your BIOS on Asus mobos. And like Denmor said, look for an "auto" option that can be changed to "manual" and change it to "manual"

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Look thru the BIOS 50 times already
Cant find any Ratio change from Auto to Manual options. Oh man!
In the CPU Configuration menu, everything are greyed out.

I wonder is my MB really that bad that cant even adjust the FSB or Multiplier?

·
Linux Guru
5,734 Posts
I know that ASUS does not lock out the Ocing ability, the firs tthing you need to do is change all setting in the BIOS from Auto to manual.
After the changes you will see some of the multipliers change colors which means that you can change them.