Overclock.net banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have some knowledge on overclocking but it isn't very extensive. Currently I have my I7 990x overclocked to 4.35ghz because my G1 Assassin has the auto overclocking feature. I really want to learn what everything means and what I have to change to achieve different or higher clocks. I'm currently cooling my CPU with a noctua NH-D14. I was hoping that the people on OCN can guide me to get a higher clocks on my CPU
smile.gif

·
Premium Member
17,407 Posts
While i don't have the same motherboard, I do have an understanding of the OCing with my similar i7 980X. What Baseclock (BCLK) are you running, What Ram speed are you using and what voltages are you using?

The most important voltages are:

Vcore
Ram voltage
VTT (QPI link...)
PLL

and what are your settings for:
CPU Multiplier
QPI Freq
Uncore Feq

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericeod View Post

While i don't have the same motherboard, I do have an understanding of the OCing with my similar i7 980X. What Baseclock (BCLK) are you running, What Ram speed are you using and what voltages are you using?
The most important voltages are:
Vcore
Ram voltage
VTT (QPI link...)
PLL
and what are your settings for:
CPU Multiplier
QPI Freq
Uncore Feq
cpu multiplier x27
QPI Frequency 5.76 ghz
Uncore Frequency 3200mhz

These are the number that you asked me to provide and please bare in mind this was just a 1 touch overclock

·
Premium Member
17,407 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonnyboy0022 View Post

It says in bios CPU Vcore 1.28125 but in CPU-Z it's telling me 1.376, so please make of it as you will.
What about in the hardware monitor section of your bios, what does it report for your voltages?

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericeod View Post

What about in the hardware monitor section of your bios, what does it report for your voltages?