Overclock.net banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
okay. to start off, i would like to introduce myself. i am new to this forums and i hear alot of good feedback on you guys! which is why i decided to register here and ask for help.

so i have a Acer Aspire One D260 or simply AOD260. here is the specs for my laptop.

http://support.acer.com/acerpanam/netbook/2010/Acer/Aspire/AspireOneAOD260/AspireOneAOD260sp2.shtml

i got the one with Intel Atom Processor N475 with 1.83GHz. pretty neat for a netbook right?

take a look at the Graphics. i got Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 3150 or GMA 3150 with 64mb of dedicated memory.

so here's the thing. i ran windows 7 manager and loaded the system information. and to my surprise, my current clock speed is only 989MHz! it is underclocked by 50%! the Max Clock Speed is 1833MHz or 1.83GHz which is the proper clock speed for my purchase. here's the screeny.

5348943368_a49cbdbf82_b.jpg


one more thing. i ran GPU-Z to see how my GPU is doing. and to my surprise, i only have 8mb! whereas i should have 64mb right? here's the screeny.

5348334301_6343f7bfcd_b.jpg


i think Acer purposely underclocked the components to lengthen battery life. but i don't want it to be like that. is there any way around this? i've been searching countless forums and blogs for solutions but to my dismay, i can't solve it. any help would be appreciated. THANKS!

Best Regards
 

·
Not new to Overclock.net
Joined
·
78,989 Posts
The underclocking is actually a power-saving feature. But there's a certain threshold where, if the load on the CPU becomes high enough, then it kicks up into full speed but then it goes back down again once the load is reduced enough.

But regarding the GPU-Z screenshot: GPU-Z Is probably just having trouble reading the information due to it being onboard video in a netbook.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables;11981696
The underclocking is actually a power-saving feature. But there's a certain threshold where, if the load on the CPU becomes high enough, then it kicks up into full speed but then it goes back down again once the load is reduced enough.

But regarding the GPU-Z screenshot: GPU-Z Is probably just having trouble reading the information due to it being onboard video in a netbook.
thanks for the quick reply.
smile.gif


what do you mean by "load on the cpu"?

it's not just GPU-Z. just awhile ago, i restarted the PC and entered the BIOS. there i saw Video Memory is 8mb. it is really underclocked.
 

·
Not new to Overclock.net
Joined
·
78,989 Posts
Load means something that causes the CPU to do some work. But, it has to be enough load in order to temporarily disable the power-saving feature. It's by-design.
wink.gif


Regarding the GPU: I don't know. I am sorry. Perhaps it's shared memory. I mean, maybe it's 8MB, but then the rest is shared from system memory. I don't know.
redface.gif
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
263 Posts
Hello Dios...

As mentioned above it is a feature built into your computer to preserve both your power bill and your battery. It is a feature that can likely be turned off in your bios but honestly, when your computer needs to draw your full speed it will undoubtedly do that. There are few reasons to leave a netbook running flat out all the time. There is no benefit to doing that. It's like trying to drive a sports car around town at full rev (in neutral) everywhere you go, engaging the gears for short burts just to do the speed limit.

On top of that, this suppressing feature is a heat limiting option. Netbooks, and notebooks for that matter, have very poor ventillation so heat builds up very quickly. This will make it hard on your equipment, your lap and your battery.

So no fear about Acer and conspiracy theories: You have a good little netbook and a great little processor that will do all that you ask of it and more when needed at 1.83ghz.

As for the video RAM stuff... I suspect that the card will commit a certain amount of memory for low definition versus high definition video images. At the time you were viewing it may have been in a "Low def" mode... There's a lot of power saving features built into the netbooks to ensure their unbelievable battery lives (upwards of 8 hours in most cases)... The 64 megs will be available when you require it- like when you play a DVD or Blu Ray (not sure which you have on yours- if either)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables;11981774
Load means something that causes the CPU to do some work. But, it has to be enough load in order to temporarily disable the power-saving feature. It's by-design.
wink.gif


Regarding the GPU: I don't know. I am sorry. Perhaps it's shared memory. I mean, maybe it's 8MB, but then the rest is shared from system memory. I don't know.
redface.gif
hmmm. i tried running a little game called GO Kart. it requires specs that can be reached by my netbook easily. the thing is, it still lags. my fps is playing around 15-30. so i checked if what you said was a feature offered by my Acer. so i ran windows 7 manager again and checked the system information. there i saw my Current Clock Speed is still on 989MHz. so i guess my netbook just doesn't increase my clock settings even if my CPU requires it.

i looked at the advanced settings of my video adapter and there i saw.

5349017754_a67dde8db1_b.jpg


it only shows that i have 192mb of shared memory. so my video adapter really has 64mb of power. but it only runs 8mb.
doh.gif

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eno75;11981780
Hello Dios...

As mentioned above it is a feature built into your computer to preserve both your power bill and your battery. It is a feature that can likely be turned off in your bios but honestly, when your computer needs to draw your full speed it will undoubtedly do that. There are few reasons to leave a netbook running flat out all the time. There is no benefit to doing that. It's like trying to drive a sports car around town at full rev (in neutral) everywhere you go, engaging the gears for short burts just to do the speed limit.

On top of that, this suppressing feature is a heat limiting option. Netbooks, and notebooks for that matter, have very poor ventillation so heat builds up very quickly. This will make it hard on your equipment, your lap and your battery.

So no fear about Acer and conspiracy theories: You have a good little netbook and a great little processor that will do all that you ask of it and more when needed at 1.83ghz.

As for the video RAM stuff... I suspect that the card will commit a certain amount of memory for low definition versus high definition video images. At the time you were viewing it may have been in a "Low def" mode... There's a lot of power saving features built into the netbooks to ensure their unbelievable battery lives (upwards of 8 hours in most cases)... The 64 megs will be available when you require it- like when you play a DVD or Blu Ray (not sure which you have on yours- if either)
thanks for the reply!
smile.gif


anyways, just like i said with Two Cables, i ran a test and figured out that my CPU doesn't release that extra "oomph" even when needed. heat is also not a problem 'cause i have a cooling system underneath my netbook and i have my airconditioning system running whenever i'm inside my room.

is there anyway to make the video card run with 64megs all the time?
 

·
Not new to Overclock.net
Joined
·
78,989 Posts
In that adapter tab, it says "System Video Memory: 64 MB". So that means it has 64 MB (or, it means you have 64 MB).

Regarding the clock speed: that's not an Acer feature, but an Intel feature. It's supposed to jump up to the performance clock under a certain amount of load.

But let's try this:
  1. Open the Start menu and type edit power plan and press Enter
  2. Click "Change advanced power settings"
  3. In the little window that appears, scroll down until you see "Processor power management"
  4. Expand it.
  5. In here, set both the "Minimum processor state" and "Maximum processor state" to 100%.
  6. Click Apply (this is the one window in Windows where clicking Apply is absolutely necessary)
A reboot may be required for this to take effect, but let's see if this works.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables;11983424
In that adapter tab, it says "System Video Memory: 64 MB". So that means it has 64 MB (or, it means you have 64 MB).

Regarding the clock speed: that's not an Acer feature, but an Intel feature. It's supposed to jump up to the performance clock under a certain amount of load.

But let's try this:
  1. Open the Start menu and type edit power plan and press Enter
  2. Click "Change advanced power settings"
  3. In the little window that appears, scroll down until you see "Processor power management"
  4. Expand it.
  5. In here, set both the "Minimum processor state" and "Maximum processor state" to 100%.
  6. Click Apply (this is the one window in Windows where clicking Apply is absolutely necessary)
A reboot may be required for this to take effect, but let's see if this works.
oh! it works! now i have 1800MHz! it was really using power saving. THANKS!
smile.gif
but still.. i don't think that it's using the 64mb of video memory. the game that i used has 32mb required video capacity. and if my netbook really uses it's full 64mb, then i wouldn't really have problems runnning that game right?
frown.gif


well thanks anyways for that wonderful tip you gave last time!
band.gif
 

·
Not new to Overclock.net
Joined
·
78,989 Posts
Just be aware of one thing: leaving the Minimum Processor State at 100% will drain the battery faster.
wink.gif


As for the video memory: I don't know. I suspect that if there isn't enough memory, then things just won't work correctly.
 
  • Rep+
Reactions: diospada11

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoCables;11984328
Just be aware of one thing: leaving the Minimum Processor State at 100% will drain the battery faster.
wink.gif


As for the video memory: I don't know. I suspect that if there isn't enough memory, then things just won't work correctly.
oh i see. thanks again! i added rep.
smile.gif
)

hmm... seeing that this is a forum focused on overclocking, is there a way to overclock my GPU?
 

·
Not new to Overclock.net
Joined
·
78,989 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by diospada11;11984420
oh i see. thanks again! i added rep.
smile.gif
)

hmm... seeing that this is a forum focused on overclocking, is there a way to overclock my GPU?
Since it a netbook, I doubt that anything is overclockable in it.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top