Overclock.net banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am about to buy a new i5 750 system, and I've heard they're really easy to overclock.

Standard they push 2.6Ghz, but I would like to clock it to 3.4Ghz, this is possible using stock voltage (1.2v).

My question is I've read disclaimers on overclocking sites saying that overclocking will reduce the life expectancy of the CPU. Now obviously if you're going to pump up the core voltage, sure you can expect it to fry the CPU. But if I use stock voltage, then will it really reduce the life expectancy of the CPU?

I don't intend to keep the CPU for 10 years, obviously in 2-3 years its going to be slow and need replacement.

Next question - I have no experience in overclocking, so besides mounting an additional fan inside the casing, what else do I need to do with the above to keep the system cool and stable?

·
Premium Member
3,756 Posts
It shouldnt reduce the life expectancy on stock voltage. And 3.4ghz is a mild overclock, so if you increase the voltage a little, it wouldnt be too bad on it anyhow. it will definitely last you a few years. I would also pick up an aftermarket CPU cooler. Since you dont intend on serious OC's, you could go with a less expensive cpu cooler. The cpu cooler you choose though will depend on the size of your case too. The Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus seems like a decent cooler and is very reasonably priced at $30.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Quote:

Originally Posted by spacegoast
View Post

It shouldnt reduce the life expectancy on stock voltage. And 3.4ghz is a mild overclock, so if you increase the voltage a little, it wouldnt be too bad on it anyhow. it will definitely last you a few years. I woudl also pick up an aftermarket CPU cooler. Since you dont intend on serious OC's, you could go with a smaller cooler.

Thank you for your reply, excuse my ignorance, but what is an aftermarket CPU cooler?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4