Overclock.net banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
815 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am using the program MSI afterburner and it appears it won't let me overlcock. I can change my fan speeds but not my core clock. When I put my core clock up to 750 (the default is 650) it automatically goes back to default.
Can you help?
Thanks

·
I'm NOT new to Overclock
11,138 Posts
I believe you need to save your profile or something and then set it to load up on startup.

I may be thinking of ATiTool thhough

·
Registered
4,211 Posts
Well i am pretty sure it works like this with there being a limit on your card set in the bios so you will need to use an alternative app or mess with the bios

My 4870 will not overclock above 790/1100 in MSI afterburner or CCC BUT Rivatuner works just fine and i've ran it up to 830/1100 no problem

·
Registered
252 Posts
I have no experience with overclocking your graphics card, but you may be trying to overclock past CCC settings on MSI afterburner. When you try this, it will reset to stock no matter what. There are programs that can bypass that, or you could go into your MSI Afterburner folder in Program Files, and go to MSIAfterburner.cfg file and open it up with notepad. At the bottom, there should be an option called "Enableunofficialoverclocking = 0". Change the value to "1" so it would read "Enableunofficialoverclocking = 1", and save the file. This should allow you to overclock past CCC settings

·
Registered
815 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rewindlabs View Post
Well i am pretty sure it works like this with there being a limit on your card set in the bios so you will need to use an alternative app or mess with the bios

My 4870 will not overclock above 790/1100 in MSI afterburner or CCC BUT Rivatuner works just fine and i've ran it up to 830/1100 no problem
Yeah my mate has just told me to download and use this it seems to be working thanks! +rep

·
Registered
4,211 Posts
Quote: