Overclock.net banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I am new to overclocking. Before I attempt to overclock my CPU, I'm doing some stress tests using AIDA64. I have a Corsair h100i water cooler. When running stress tests, my CPU cores are around 68c/70c, sometimes hitting 71c. Is this too high? And what are safes temps for this CPU?

My Rig:
Motherboard: MSI Z97S SLI Krait Edition
CPU: Intel Core i5 4690K 3.5Ghz (Plan to overclock to around 4.2/4.4)
GPU: SLI / 2 x 4GB EVGA GTX 970 Superclocked ACX 2.0
RAM: 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair DDR3 Vengeance Pro Series 2133Mhz
PSU: 750W EVGA SuperNOVA G2
Primary SSD: 500GB Samsung 840 EVO Basic
Secondary HDD: 1TB WD Green
Cooling: Corsair H100i
Monitor: 28" Asus PB287Q LED 4K UHD Gaming Monitor
Case: NZXT H440 White

·
Registered
6 Posts
I have mostly the same build, with the i5-4690k and the same 2 970's, and at stock my temps were 55 under load with an h100i. I was using SP120's however, and not the included fans.

·
Registered
252 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zombywafflez View Post

I have mostly the same build, with the i5-4690k and the same 2 970's, and at stock my temps were 55 under load with an h100i. I was using SP120's however, and not the included fans.
I have the same case as him, and I'm wondering if his PC is running warm due to the poor airflow of the H440.

OP, try moving your H100i rad to the front of the case with the fans taking in fresh air. I found this helped temps on my 4790K.

·
Registered
189 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karan98 View Post

They seem pretty high for stock. Are you using adaptive/auto voltage setting in the BIOS at the moment?
Ive not changed any settings. I will have a look. When i installed the cooler, the thermal paste looked fairly thin. i didnt touch it at all. Could it be that?

Also, are the stock fans with the h100i any good? Would it worth upgrading the fans.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Quote: